Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Liberty to Host 2017-19 Big South Women's Basketball Championships

July 12, 2016  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Liberty will host the 2017, 2018 and 2019 Big South Women's Basketball Championships at the Vines Center.

Liberty will host the 2017, 2018 and 2019 Big South Women's Basketball Championships at the Vines Center.

The Big South Conference Council of Chief Executive Officers has awarded the Big South Conference Women's Basketball Championship tournament to Liberty University for the next three years, it was announced today by Commissioner Kyle B. Kallander.  The 2017-19 tournaments will be contested at Liberty's on-campus facility, the Vines Center.

Liberty last hosted the Big South Women's Basketball Championship in its entirety in 1998, while the last time a Big South tournament game was contested on Liberty's campus was in 2006 (championship contest). Liberty has hosted the entire Big South Women's Basketball Championship twice (1997 and 1998), in addition to serving as host of the semifinals and finals three times (2003, 2005 and 2006). In all, the Lady Flames have hosted 28 official Big South Women's Basketball tournament games. 

"We are excited to bring the Big South Women's Basketball Championship back to Lynchburg, Virginia and Liberty University," stated Kallander. "Given Liberty's commitment to the Championship, it is clear that our student-athletes will have an outstanding experience, which is the Big South's top priority. We had two other very strong bids, from High Point University and UNC Asheville. It was a very difficult decision for our membership, and ended up being an extremely close vote. We appreciate all three bidders' interest and enthusiasm for hosting the Big South Conference's premier women's basketball event."

"We are honored to have the opportunity to host the 2017-19 Big South Women's Basketball Championship," added Liberty Director of Athletics Jeff Barber. "Our history in hosting championships and tournaments has shown that Liberty goes above and beyond in giving the teams, coaches and fans an outstanding experience. This event will be no exception."

In 2007, the Big South Women's Basketball Championship returned to a single-site format following a four-year span using a home-site/earned seed format from 2003-06.  The host team has won the title 10 times in the 26 previous single-site events, including defending champion UNC Asheville in 2016.

"Liberty University is proud and honored to host the 2017-19 Big South Women's Basketball Championships in Lynchburg," commented Liberty President Jerry Falwell, Jr. "We believe that recent improvements to Liberty's campus will guarantee a wonderful atmosphere for visitors, for all the teams competing and for the Big South Conference. Liberty is grateful for the support and confidence expressed by the Big South's member institutions in choosing to hold the championships on our campus and we look forward to a mutually beneficial experience."

"We are excited to have this wonderful opportunity to showcase Big South Conference women's basketball to the community," said Liberty Women's Basketball Head Coach Carey Green. "The Lynchburg area has always provided outstanding support to Liberty Athletics, and we expect a first-class experience during the next three years of hosting this event. We are grateful for all of the work and support that our university and athletic administration have given to secure the Big South Championship. Our players and staff are ecstatic about this opportunity."

The 2017 tournament will be Thursday-Sunday, March 9-12 -- just the fourth time the event will be played over four consecutive days. Below is the tentative schedule for the championship, and more information -- including finalized game times and ticket information, will be announced at a later date.

2017 Big South Women's Basketball Championship – March 9-12 (at Liberty)
Thursday, March 9 – First Round

No. 8 seed vs. No. 9 seed, TBA (Big South Network)
No. 7 seed vs. No. 10 seed, TBA (Big South Network)
Friday, March 10 – Quarterfinals
No. 1 seed vs. Winner 8/9, TBA (ESPN3)
No. 4 seed vs. No. 5 seed, TBA (ESPN3)
No. 2 seed vs. Winner 7/10, TBA (ESPN3)
No. 3 seed vs. No. 6 seed, TBA (ESPN3)
Saturday, March 11 – Semifinals
Semifinal Game 1, TBA (ESPN3)
Semifinal Game 2, TBA (ESPN3)
Sunday, March 12 – Championship
Championship Game, TBA (ESPN3)