Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Toman Resigns Baseball Coaching Duties

June 24, 2016  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Toman Resigns Baseball Coaching Duties

Liberty University Director of Athletics Jeff Barber has announced that head baseball coach Jim Toman has resigned from his coaching duties to pursue other opportunities. A national search for the seventh head coach in the program's history will begin immediately.

"During the last nine years, Jim has maintained a consistent passion for Liberty baseball and worked hard to continue to advance our program," said Barber. "He guided our team to a number of signature wins, spotlighted by a Big South title in 2013 and reaching the finals of the NCAA Columbia Regional. I want to express my sincere appreciation to Jim for the impact he had on the lives of our student-athletes and Liberty baseball."

Toman has served as Liberty's head coach for the last nine seasons, posting a winning record each year and compiling a 329-205-1 overall record. He finishes his time at Liberty as the second winningest coach in program history.

Toman guided the program to its fourth Big South title in 2013 and advanced to the finals of the NCAA Columbia Regional, a first in program history. In 2014, the Flames earned their first-ever at-large bid to the NCAA Regionals, marking the program's fifth regional appearance.

This past season, Liberty became the first No. 7 seed in Big South Baseball Championship history to reach the tournament's title game in its eight-team format. The appearance was Liberty's eighth championship game showing in program history and fifth under Toman's leadership.

The Flames posted a 31-28 record, winning nine of their last 11 games. The late season run allowed the Flames to post their 12th consecutive 30-plus win season.

During this nine-year run as head coach, Toman had 24 players selected in the Major League Baseball Draft. Pitcher Parker Bean and shortstop Dalton Britt were selected in the 2016 MLB Draft, giving the program at least one draft pick each year since 2000.