Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Flames Tabbed 2nd Seed for Big South Men's Tennis Championship

April 15, 2015  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Flames Tabbed 2nd Seed for Big South Men's Tennis Championship

After recording a program record, 6-2 mark in Big South action, the Liberty men's tennis team has earned the No. 2 seed for the upcoming 2015 Big South Men's Tennis Championship. The Flames (13-9, 6-2 BSC) will take on host No. 7 seed UNC Asheville (11-7, 3-5 BSC) in the quarterfinals on Sunday at noon in Asheville, N.C.

Earlier this season, on March 27, Liberty suffered one of its two Big South defeats when the Flames fell to the Bulldogs by a score of 5-2 in Asheville, N.C. The Flames are 10-14 all-time against Asheville, including winners of three of the last four outings against the Bulldogs.

Coastal Carolina received its fourth regular season Big South Championship in program history after finishing the conference season with a 6-1 mark. Winthrop and Campbell each finished 5-3 in Big South action but due to the head-to-head tiebreaker, the Eagles claim the No. 3 seed while the Camels collect the No. 4 seed.

Presbyterian finished the regular season with a 4-4 record in conference play to take the No. 5 seed while Radford laid claim to the No. 6 seed after a 3-4 Big South mark. Host Asheville and Gardner-Webb finished the regular season with a 3-5 Big South record as the Bulldogs claimed the No. 7 seed while the Runnin' Bulldogs collected the No. 8 seed due to the head-to-head tiebreaker. Longwood rounds out the field at the No. 9 seed after finishing the regular season with an 0-8 conference mark.

The 2015 Big South Men's Tennis Championship begins Saturday, April 18 with two matches, and concludes with the Championship contest on Tuesday, April 21.

2015 Big South Men's Tennis Championship

Saturday, April 18 – First Round/Quarterfinals

Match 1: No. 8 Gardner-Webb vs. No. 9 Longwood, 9 a.m. ET

Match 2: No. 4 Campbell vs. No. 5 Presbyterian, 3 p.m. ET

Sunday, April 19 – Quarterfinals

Match 3: No. 1 Coastal Carolina vs. Winner Match 1, 9 a.m. ET

Match 4: No. 2 Liberty vs. No. 7 UNC Asheville, 12:00 p.m. ET

Match 5: No. 3 Winthrop vs. No. 6 Radford, 3 p.m.

Monday, April 20 – Semifinals

Match 6: Winner Match 2 vs. Winner Match 3, 10 a.m. ET

Match 7: Winner Match 4 vs. Winner Match 5, 2 p.m. ET

Tuesday, April 21 – Championship

Match 8: Winner Match 6 vs. Winner Match 7, 12 p.m. ET