Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Liberty Garners Third Seed for Upcoming Big South Baseball Championship

May 20, 2007  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
2007 Liberty Flames

2007 Liberty Flames

Liberty, last year's tournament runner-up, secured the No. 3 seed with its 2-1 weekend series win at VMI and will square off with the No. 4 seeded Keydets, Wednesday at the 2007 Big South Baseball Championship at the Winthrop Ballpark in Rock Hill, S.C.

Liberty captured the conference's No. 3 seed by finishing 14-7 in Big South play and 33-22 overall. The Flames' seed is their highest seed in the Big South baseball tournament since receiving a No. 3 seed in 2001. This season, Liberty won 30-plus games for the third straight season for only the second time in school history.

The Flames will play VMI, the fourth seed, in the third game of the championship at 8 p.m. on Wednesday. The Keydets, who tied High Point for fourth-place in the conference standings with identical 10-11 records, received the No. 4 seed due to its 2-1 season series win over the Panthers. VMI's seeding is it's highest ever since joining the Big South four years ago. The Keydets set a school mark for victories with a 34-19 overall record so far this season.

Coastal Carolina's 7-2 win over Winthrop Sunday afternoon earned the Chanticleers the outright 2007 Big South Conference baseball regular-season title and No. 1 seed for the Big South Baseball Championship. Coastal Carolina finished the season with a 17-4 conference mark to win their second regular-season Big South baseball crown in three years and third in six seasons. The 15th-ranked Chanticleers are 44-11 overall.

Host Winthrop is the No. 2 seed with its final league record of 14-6, followed by Liberty and VMI. The Eagles are 31-25 overall. The top four seeds will open tournament play on Wednesday.

For the first time since 2002, the Big South Baseball Championship will feature eight squads competing for the league's automatic berth to a NCAA Regional. The conference used a six-team format the past four years, and this year, the bottom four teams will play a single-elimination game on Tuesday. The first game will feature the No. 6 seed against the No. 7 seed at 3 p.m., followed by the No. 5 seed facing the No. 8 seed at 8 p.m.

High Point garners the No. 5 seed and will face No. 8 seed Radford. The Highlanders concluded the regular-season with a 2-19 Big South record. UNC Asheville, last year's tournament champion as a No. 6 seed, repeats at No. 6 this year with its 9-12 Conference mark (20-36 overall) and will face No. 7 seed Charleston Southern (7-14 Big South, 22-33 overall). The Buccaneers last appeared in the Big South Baseball Championship in 2004. Tuesday's winners will advance to the main double-elimination bracket, with the lowest remaining seed playing No. 1 Coastal Carolina Wednesday morning at 11 a.m., and the highest remaining seed facing No. 2 Winthrop at 3 p.m.

Prior to the UNC Asheville-Charleston Southern game Tuesday, the Big South Conference and its member institutions will observe a moment of silence in honor of Liberty University Founder and Chancellor Dr. Jerry Falwell and Winthrop men's basketball player De'Andre Adams, as well as prior to Liberty's and Winthrop's respective first game of the tournament on Wednesday.

The tournament will continue with Games 4-6 on Thursday, Games 7-9 on Friday and the title game on Saturday at 1 p.m. The complete Big South Conference Championship schedule appears below, and will be video streamed live on the league's premium content web site, The Big South EDGE presented by Aéropostale. Tournament games will be available daily via the $5.95 Day Pass -- which covers all games played that respective day -- or the $15.95 Full Championship Pass, which features the tournament in its entirety. In addition, real-time "Live Stats" will be available on both the league's and Winthrop's website free of charge.

In addition to the start of main bracket play Wednesday, the Big South will announce the 2007 All-Conference teams in an on-field ceremony prior to the 3 p.m. contest.

Tuesday, May 22 (Games A-B)
Game A: No. 6 seed UNC Asheville vs. No. 7 seed Charleston Southern, 3 p.m.
Game B: No. 5 seed High Point vs. No. 8 seed Radford, 8 p.m.

Wednesday, May 23 (Games 1-3)
Game 1: No. 1 seed Coastal Carolina vs. lowest remaining seed, 11 p.m.
Game 2: No. 2 seed Winthrop vs. highest remaining seed, 3 p.m.
Game 3: No. 3 seed Liberty vs. No. 4 seed VMI, 8 p.m.

Thursday, May 24 (Games 4-6)
Game 4: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 11 p.m.
Game 5: Loser Game 3 vs. Winner Game 1, 3 p.m.
Game 6: Winner Game 2 vs. Winner Game 3, 8 p.m.

Friday, May 25 (Games 7-9)
Game 7: TBA vs. TBA, 11 p.m.
Game 8: TBA vs. TBA, 3 p.m.
Game 9: TBA vs. TBA, 8 p.m.

Saturday, May 26 (Games 10-11)
Game 10: Championship Game, 1 p.m.
Game 11: If necessary, Championship Game (immediately following Game 10)