Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Liberty's Top 10 Moments of 2014: Moment No. 10

December 18, 2014  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Video Views: 28538

As the calendar winds down to the final days of 2014, the Liberty Flames Sports Network is looking back at the moments that made this athletics year special for Flames Nation.

The series begins today by looking at Moment No. 10, Liberty's men's cross country and track & field teams capturing their eighth straight Big South "Triple Crown."

The Liberty Flames have dominated the Big South of late, winning the of the conference titles for men's cross country, men's indoor track & field and men's outdoor track & field each of the last eight years (24 conference titles in all).

The streak started with the 2006 Big South Cross Country Championship and is tied for the second-longest streak of conference "Triple Crowns" in men's NCAA Division I men's cross country/track & field history (Kansas – Big 8: 1951-59).  William & Mary owns the record with nine straight Southern Conference Triple Crowns between 1966 and 1975.

Liberty capped off the impressive run by claiming the 2014 Big South Outdoor Track & Field Championship, April 17-21, in Rock Hill, S.C. The Flames finished the event with 225.5 points, which was 54.5 points better than second-place finisher Coastal Carolina.

The Liberty men's cross country team had won a conference-record nine straight Big South titles before 2014. The Liberty men's indoor track & field team has won all 17 Big South championships ever contested since the inception of the meet in 1998.

The Liberty Flames Sports Network will continue to count down the Top 10 moments of 2014 when reveals moment No. 9 on Friday.

Top 10 Moments of 2014:
No. 10 – Liberty claiming the title at the 2014 Big South Men's Outdoor Track & Field Championships
No. 9 – Revealed on Dec. 19
No. 8 – Revealed on Dec. 22
No. 7 – Revealed on Dec. 23
No. 6 – Revealed on Dec. 24
No. 5 – Revealed on Dec. 25
No. 4 – Revealed on Dec. 26
No. 3 – Revealed on Dec. 29
No. 2 – Revealed on Dec. 30
No. 1 – Revealed on Dec. 31