Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Layer Announces 2014-15 Hoops Schedule

August 29, 2014  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Tomasz Gielo

Tomasz Gielo

2014-15 Men's Basketball Schedule

Along with previously announced matchups at Virginia Tech, Miami (Ohio) and a trip to Cancun, return meetings versus Princeton, Delaware and Furman also highlight the 2014-15 Liberty men's basketball schedule.

Liberty opens the season at home for a second straight season against fellow Hill City competitor Randolph College on Nov. 14.

Following more home cooking against Delaware (Nov. 17), Liberty will begin the Cancun Challenge at Virginia Tech on Nov. 19 and Miami (Ohio) on Nov. 22. The Flames wrap up the invitational in Cancun, Mexico (Nov. 25-26) against North Florida and either Morgan State or Elon.

Layer's squad begins the month of December with three straight home games, hosting Furman on Dec. 1, Saint Francis (N.Y.) on Dec. 6 and Bluefield (Dec. 13). The Flames then close out the non-conference slate alternating road and home contests. Liberty heads to UNCW (Dec. 17) before hosting Central Penn on Dec. 19. The Flames head to Princeton on Dec. 22 and conclude non-conference play with a Vines Center meeting versus Cincinnati Christian (Dec. 28).

With 11 teams in the Big South, each member will play an 18-game unbalanced schedule in 2014-15, facing eight teams twice and two teams once. The Flames will have single meetings against High Point and Gardner-Webb.

Conference action begins on the final day of 2014, when Liberty takes on Campbell in Buies Creek, N.C. Presbyterian will visit the Hill City for Liberty's first conference home contest in 2015 (Jan. 3). One week later, Liberty hosts defending Big South Champion Coastal Carolina (Jan. 10).

The Flames round out the regular season at home in three of the final four contests. Liberty's Senior Day takes place on Feb. 28, when the Flames host UNC Asheville in the regular-season finale.

The 2015 Big South Men's Basketball Championship takes place March 4-8 inside The HTC Center in Conway, S.C. The top five teams receive a bye, giving way to first-round matchups among the remaining seeds on March 4, followed by quarterfinals (March 6), semifinals (March 7) and finals (March 8). The winner earns an automatic bid to the 2015 NCAA Tournament, with the opening round beginning March 17.

All television assignments and game times will be announced at a later date.