Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Peterson Added to CFPA Wide Receiver Award Watch List

June 23, 2014  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Peterson Added to CFPA Wide Receiver Award Watch List

Darrin Peterson is the latest Flame to be added to a College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) Watch List, as the rising junior was recently added to the Wide Receiver preseason listing.

Peterson is the fourth Liberty football player to be named to one of the CFPA preseason watch lists, joining fellow teammates Jacob Hagen (defensive backs), Nick Sigmon (linebacker) and Josh Woodrum (quarterback).

A total of 38 players were named to the CFPA Wide Receiver Watch List, and Peterson is the first of four representatives on the list from the Big South Conference. Peterson is joined on the list by Tobi Antigha (Presbyterian College), Kenny Cook (Gardner-Webb) and Neal Sterling (Monmouth).

Liberty has had two players previously win CFPA postseason honors: Chris Summers (CFPA Wide Receiver Award – 2010) and Kevin Fogg (CFPA Elite Kickoff Returner Award – 2011).

Peterson earned All-Big South first-team and VaSID second-team honors in 2013, as he led the Flames and ranked No. 2 in the Big South in receptions (58) and receiving touchdowns (7).

The native of Attalla, Ala., finished last year with 825 receiving yards, the second most receiving yards in a season by a sophomore wide receiver.

Peterson posted four 100-yard receiving games during the 2013 campaign, starting the season with five receptions for 106 yards at Kent State. His remaining three 100-yard games came against Monmouth (124 yards), Coastal Carolina (111 yards) and VMI (118 yards).

Rounding out his sophomore season, Peterson also added three rushing attempts for 36 yards, plus he completed a 22-yard pass against Monmouth.

CFPA Wide Receivers Watch List
Dezmin Lewis, Central Arkansas
Tyrell Holmes, Central Connecticut
Lucas Shapiro, Cornell
William Morris, Davidson
Michael Johnson, Delaware
Milton Williams III, Delaware State
Adam Drake, Eastern Illinois
Keiondre Gober, Eastern Illinois
Cooper Kupp, Eastern Washington*
Sam Ajala, Fordham
Tebucky Jones, Jr., Fordham
Brian Wetzel, Fordham
Kenny Cook, Gardner-Webb
Andrew Robustelli, Jacksonville
Reggie Begelton, Lamar
Mark Roberts, Lamar
Darrin Peterson, Liberty
Julian Burton, Missouri State
Neal Sterling, Monmouth
Ellis Henderson, Montana
Jamaal Jones, Montana
Zach Vraa, North Dakota State
Dimitri Stimphil, Northern Colorado
Kasey Closs, Portland State
Tobi Antigha, Presbyterian College
Stephen Barnette, Richmond
DeAndre Carter, Sacramento State
Karel Hamilton, Samford
Reggie Bell, San Diego
Jason Schneider, South Dakota State
Willie Quinn, Southern University
Tyler Boyd, Stephen F. Austin
DJ Ward, Stephen F. Austin
Spencer Wilkins, Towson
R.J. Harris, UNH
Karnorris Benson, Western Carolina
Tre McBride, William & Mary
Deon Randall, Yale
*Returning CFPA winner