Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Woodrum Named to CFPA Quarterback Award Watch List

June 18, 2014  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Woodrum Named to CFPA Quarterback Award Watch List

Liberty players continue to find themselves being considered among the best at their position as we enter the 2014 season, with Josh Woodrum recently being named to the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) Quarterbacks Watch List.

Woodrum is the third Flame to receive preseason recognition from the group. Nick Sigmon was named to the CFPA Linebackers Watch List, while Jacob Hagen was among the players listed on the CFPA Defensive Backs Watch List.

A total of 36 players were named to the CFPA Quarterbacks Watch List, and Woodrum is the second representative on the list from the Big South Conference. Woodrum is joined on the list by Coastal Carolina quarterback Alex Ross.

Liberty has had two players previously win CFPA postseason honors: Chris Summers (CFPA Wide Receiver Award – 2010) and Kevin Fogg (CFPA Elite Kickoff Returner Award – 2011).

Woodrum was an All-Big South second-team selection in 2013 and was named to the College Sporting News National All-Stars listing. He led the Flames and ranked No. 1 in the Big South in passing yards (2,581) and passing touchdowns (19).

The Roanoke, Va., native threw multiple touchdowns in six of Liberty's 12 games and surpassed 200 passing yards six times. He also did some damage on the ground, rushing for a career-high five touchdowns and 154 yards.
He finished the year with a 150.49 pass efficiency rating, the fourth-best, single-season mark in program history.

CFPA Quarterbacks Watch List
Jacob Huesman, Chattanooga
Alex Ross, Coastal Carolina
Dalyn Williams, Dartmouth
Trent Hurley, Delaware
Jared McClain, Eastern Kentucky
Vernon Adams, Eastern Washington*
Mike Quinn, Elon
Michael Nebrich, Fordham
Conner Hempel, Harvard
Peter Pujals, Holy Cross
Greg McGhee, Howard
Justin Arias, Idaho State
Blake Winkler, Illinois State
Trent Brittain, Incarnate Word
Eli Jenkins, Jacksonville State
Drew Reed, Lafayette*
Caleb Berry, Lamar
Josh Woodrum, Liberty
John Russ, Mercer
Jordan Johnson, Montana
Tuskani Figaro, Nicholls State
Sawyer Kollmorgen, Northern Iowa*
Zach Adkins, Northwestern State
Kieran McDonagh, Portland State
Jerry Lovelocke, Prairie View A&M
Quinn Epperly, Princeton
Michael Strauss, Richmond
Garrett Safron, Sacramento State
RJ Noel, Sacred Heart
Austin Sumner, South Dakota State
Bryan Bennett, Southeastern Louisiana
Ronald Butler, Tennessee State
Benjamin Anderson, UAPB
Sean Goldrich, UNH
Dylan Favre, UT-Martin
John Robertson, Villanova*
*Returning CFPA winner