Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Hagen Named to CFPA Defensive Backs Award Watch List

June 3, 2014  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Hagen Named to CFPA Defensive Backs Award Watch List

Another Flames football player is considered one of the top players in the country at his position as Jacob Hagen has been named to the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) Defensive Backs Watch List.

Hagen is the second Flame leading into the 2014 season to be named to a CFPA Award Watch List, as senior Nick Sigmon was named to the Linebacker Watch List, last week.

A total of 38 players were named to the CFPA Defensive Back Watch List and he is the lone representative on the list from the Big South Conference.

Liberty has had two players previously win CFPA postseason honors: Chris Summers (CFPA Wide Receiver Award – 2010) and Kevin Fogg (CFPA Elite Kickoff Returner Award – 2011).

Hagen had a breakout season in 2013, earning Associated Press FCS All-America honors (third team), as well as being selected All-Big South first team and VaSID all-state first team.

Hagen finished the 2013 season with a career-best 61 tackles (34 solo, 27 assisted), which nearly doubled his career total through his first two seasons with the Flames (76 tackles).

He led the Big South and ranked No. 9 in the country in interceptions per game (0.5). His six picks during his junior season were the most interceptions by a Flame since Richard Shelton, who played five years in the NFL, finished the 1987 season with a half-dozen interceptions for Liberty.

Thanks to his six individual interceptions, Liberty was able to finish the 2013 season ranked No. 5 in the country in passed intercepted (19) and No. 3 in turnover margin (1.3).

CFPA Defensive Backs Watch List
Matthew Steinbeck, Bucknell
Mike Armiento, Colgate
Michael Turner, Cornell
Jourdan Wickliffe, Eastern Illinois
Ian Williams, Fordham
Jairus Hollman, Furman
Norman Hayes, Harvard
Taylor Thompson, Houston Baptist
Dean Marlowe, James Madison
Matt Smalley, Lafayette
Jacob Hagen, Liberty
Zach Adler, Marist
Caleb Schaffitzel, Missouri State*
Matt Hermanson, Montana
Avery Boykin, MVSU
Christian Dudzik, North Dakota State
Colten Heagle, North Dakota State
Ray Mitchell, Northern Iowa
Imoan Claiborne, Northwestern State
Anthony Gaffney, Princeton
Gordon Hill, Sacred Heart
J.D. Roussel, Sacred Heart
Lorenzo Jerome, Saint Francis
DaQuan Minter, Saint Francis
Jaquiski Tartt, Samford
Harlan Miller, Southeastern Louisiana
Marice Sutton, Southeastern Louisiana
Je Ryan Butler, South Dakota State
Chris Atkins, Stetson
Donald Payne, Stetson
Davonte Anderson, Stony Brook
Daniel Fitzpatrick, Tennessee State*
De'Ante Saunders, Tennessee State
Donnell Lewis, Towson
Steven Thames, UNH
Cameron McCurry, Villanova
Martinez Davis, Western Illinois
Cole Champion, Yale
*Returning CFPA winner