Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Moyer, Dunay, Struss and Britton Earn Big South Postseason Honors

April 28, 2014  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
From left to right: Jen Moyer, Nina Dunay and Sam Struss

From left to right: Jen Moyer, Nina Dunay and Sam Struss

Liberty lacrosse standouts Jen Moyer, Nina Dunay and Sam Struss each garnered Big South postseason recognition, as announced this afternoon by the league office. Moyer was named to the first-team all-conference squad, while Dunay and Struss were tabbed to the second-team and all-academic team, respectively. Additionally, Kallie Britton was named to the Honorable Mention All-Conference squad.

Moyer earns the first Big South All-Conference nod of her career, giving the Lady Flames first-team honorees in back-to-back seasons. Jen Freymond was tabbed to the first-team squad last season. A defender, Moyer started all 17 games this season and is tied for first on the team and ninth in the Big South in ground balls per game (2.06). The Telford, Pa., native is second on the Lady Flames in draw controls with 25 and third in caused turnovers with 12. On April 11 against Big South regular season champion High Point, Moyer collected career highs in ground balls (5) and caused turnovers (5).

Dunay garners her second consecutive second-team all-conference honor, after also being named to the team in 2013. Starting all 17 games on the midfield line for Liberty, Dunay ranks first on the team and fifth in the league in caused turnovers per game (1.35). The senior has been one of the Lady Flames' top offensive threats this season as well, ranking third on the team in goals (22), points (33) and second in assists. Earlier this season, Dunay moved into first place on Liberty's career goals and points listing with 99 and 131, respectively. The Ashburn, Va., native finished the regular season fourth on the team in both ground balls (28) and draw controls (15)

In addition to her success on the field this season, Struss excelled in the classroom, earning her a spot on the all-academic team. It is the first postseason honor for the Evans City, Pa., native. Struss, an exercise science major, holds a 3.93 GPA. On the field, Struss has had a breakout season, leading the team in goals (36) and points (45). The junior ranks eighth in the Big South in goals per game (2.12).

Britton garners the first postseason all-conference honor of her career. The sophomore leads the Lady Flames in assists with 15 and is tied with Moyer fo the team lead in ground balls with 35. Amongst Big South leaders, Britton is tied for ninth in ground balls per game (2.06). Britton has added 16 goals for a total of 31 points, which ranks fourth on the squad.

The Big South's offensive player of the year was awarded to Mackenzie Carroll of High Point, while her teammate Jasmine Jordan garnered both the defensive and scholar-athlete of the year honors. Katherine Rueger of Davidson was honored as the conference's freshman of the year, High Point head coach Lyndsey Boswell was tabbed the head coach of the year after leading the Panthers to a perfect 7-0 record in league play and the No. 1 seed in the Big South Lacrosse Championship.

The 2014 Big South Lacrosse Championship gets under way on Wednesday with the quarterfinal round. The No. 7 seed Lady Flames travel to face No. 2 seed Davidson at 6 p.m.

2014 Big South Conference Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams
First-Team All-Conference                                                       

ATT     Mackenzie Carroll, Sr., High Point
ATT     Emma Sissman, Soph., Davidson
ATT     Jenna Kasmarik, Jr., Winthrop
MF      Jasmine Jordan, Sr., High Point
MF      Emily Rademacher, Jr., Davidson
MF      Shannon Gallagher, Soph., Winthrop
MF      Sarah Butler, Soph., Longwood
MF      Sara Kuhlman, Sr., High Point
D         Patricia Bigelow, Sr., High Point
D         Paige Logan, Sr., Davidson
D         Jen Moyer, Sr., Liberty
GK       Julia Burns, Jr., High Point
AL       Kacey Norwood, Jr., Longwood
AL       Rachel Waldron, Soph., Coastal Carolina
AL       Katie McHugh, Soph., Longwood

Second-Team All-Conference                                                 
ATT     Taelar Errington, Sr., Campbell
ATT     Ann Fucigna, Sr., Davidson
ATT     Lauren Prasnicki, Sr., Longwood
MF      Nina Dunay, Sr., Liberty
MF      Hayley Krause, Soph., Winthrop
MF      Katherine Rueger, Fr., Davidson
MF      Cloey Henchcliffe, Sr., Campbell
MF      Maddy Dolinar, Fr., Campbell
D         Maddy Ciardi, Soph., Coastal Carolina
D         Alyssa Blevins, Jr., Winthrop
D         Maura Talvacchia, Fr., Presbyterian College
GK       Christian Acker, Jr., Longwood
AL       Emily Cooke, Jr., Davidson
AL       Alec Perry, Sr., High Point
AL       Paige Jenkins, Fr., Winthrop

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Erin O'Hara, Fr., D, Campbell
Shiloh McKenzie, So., D, Longwood
Lily Yednock, JR., MF, Coastal Carolina
Kallie Britton, So., MF, Liberty
Mary Barondess, Sr., MF, Longwood

All-Academic Team
Brittany Kincer, Sr., GK, Campbell
Lily Yednock, Jr., MF, Coastal Carolina
Paige Logan, Sr., D, Davidson
Jasmine Jordan, Sr., D, High Point
Sam Struss, Jr., ATT, Liberty
Lauren Prasnicki, Sr., ATT, Longwood
Maggie Richardson, Jr., MF, Presbyterian College
Logan McCarthy, Soph., MF, Winthrop

Offensive Player Of The Year
Mackenzie Carroll, Sr., ATT, High Point

Defensive Player Of The Year
Jasmine Jordan, Sr., D, High Point

Freshman Of The Year
Katherine Rueger, MF, Davidson

Coach Of The Year
Lyndsey Boswell, High Point

Scholar-Athlete Of The Year
Jasmine Jordan, Sr., D, High Point