Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Sanders Named to Big South All-Academic Team

March 3, 2014  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
John Caleb Sanders

John Caleb Sanders

For the second straight year, Liberty men's basketball senior guard John Caleb Sanders has been named to the Big South All-Academic Team, as voted on by the league's sports information directors. The announcement was made this morning by the conference office, along with the unveiling of the Big South's all-conference award winners.

Last season, Sanders earned Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors in addition to a spot on the conference's all-academic team. This year, Gardner-Webb center Mike Byron took top honors as the conference's scholar-athlete of the year.

Sanders is currently completing his MBA with a focus on marketing, holding a grade-point average (GPA) of 3.58. Prior to his graduate work, the Sugar Land, Texas native earned a bachelor's degree in business administration, finishing with a 3.39 cumulative GPA.

On Liberty's Senior Day this past Saturday, Sanders made his 131st appearance for the Flames, the most by any player in program history, having appeared in every contest during his collegiate career. The senior is currently 14th all-time on Liberty's scoring list with 1,376 tallies.

Sanders and the Flames begin play in the 2014 Big South Men's Basketball Championship on Wednesday taking on No. 4 seed (South) Winthrop. Game time is slated for noon, with the contest streaming live on the Big South Network.

2013-14 Men's Basketball All-Conference

First-Team All-Conference
John Brown, F, R-Soph., High Point
D.J. Covington, C, Sr., VMI
Javonte Green, F, Jr., Radford
Rodney Glasgow, G, Sr., VMI
Andrew Rowsey, G, Fr., UNC Asheville

Second-Team All-Conference
Warren Gillis, F, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Jerome Hill, F, Soph., Gardner-Webb
QJ Peterson, G, Fr., VMI
Jaron Lane, F, R-Sr., UNC Asheville
D.J. Cunningham, C, R-Sr., UNC Asheville

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Elijah Wilson, G, Fr., Coastal Carolina
Tristan Carey, G, Sr., Longwood
Jordan Downing, G, R-Jr., Presbyterian College
Devante Wallace, G, Jr., High Point
Keon Moore, G/F, R-Jr., Winthrop

All-Freshman Team
Andrew Rowsey, G, UNC Asheville
QJ Peterson, G, VMI
Elijah Wilson, G, Coastal Carolina
Keon Johnson, G, Winthrop
Tyrell Nelson, F, Gardner-Webb

All-Academic Team
Paul Gombwer, F, Jr., Charleston Southern
Michel Enanga, F, Soph,, Coastal Carolina
Mike Byron, C, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Haiishen McIntyre, G, Soph., High Point
John Caleb Sanders, G, Sr., Liberty
Jeylani Dublin, F, R-Jr., Longwood
Kyle Noreen, G/F, Jr., Radford
James Bourne, F, Jr., Winthrop

Player of the Year
John Brown, F, R-Soph., High Point

Freshman of the Year
Andrew Rowsey, G, UNC Asheville

Defensive Player of the Year
D.J. Covington, C, Sr., VMI

Coach of the Year
Scott Cherry, High Point

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Mike Byron, C, Sr., Gardner-Webb