Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

5 Lady Flames Named to Big South All-Decade Teams

February 26, 2014  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Katie Feenstra (left) and Elena Kisseleva (right) were two of Liberty's honorees on the Big South Women's Basketball All-Decade teams.

Katie Feenstra (left) and Elena Kisseleva (right) were two of Liberty's honorees on the Big South Women's Basketball All-Decade teams.

Former Liberty standouts Elena Kisseleva, Sharon Wilkerson, Katie Feenstra and Megan Frazee, along with head coach Carey Green, have been named to the Big South Conference Women's Basketball All-Decade Teams. Part of the Big South's 30th anniversary celebration, the all-decade teams were determined by conference administrators and fan voting.

Kisseleva and Wilkerson made the 1990s all-decade team, while Feenstra, Frazee and Green are part of the 2000s all-decade squad. These five individuals have played a prominent role in the Lady Flames' impressive run of 15 Big South titles in the last 17 seasons, including an unprecedented 10 in a row (1997-2006). 

Kisseleva (1997-2000) was part of the Lady Flames' first four Big South championship teams and garnered an impressive amount of conference hardware during her career. She was the 1997 Big South Freshman of the Year, a two-time Player of the Year (1998 & 1999), a three-time Big South Championship MVP (1997, 1999 & 2000) and a four-time first-team All-Big South honoree (1997, 1998, 1999 & 2000).

The all-time leading scorer in Liberty and Big South Conference history with 2,154 career points, Kisseleva was part of the inaugural class of the Liberty Athletics Hall of Fame in 2009 before being elected to the Big South Hall of Fame in 2011.

Wilkerson (1997-2000), along with her twin sister Sarah and Kisseleva, formed the backbone of Liberty's first four Big South championship squads. The 2000 Big South Player of the Year, Wilkerson is one of only three Lady Flames to earn first-team All-Big South honors during all four of her seasons. The three-time Big South All-Tournament team member (1997, 1998 & 1999) is the fifth-leading scorer in program history, with 1,733 points.

Feenstra (2002-05) accomplished a number of "firsts" during her four-year career with the Lady Flames. She was the first three-time Big South Player of the Year (2003, 2004 & 2005) and Liberty's first All-American, earning honorable mention accolades from the Associated Press in 2004 and 2005. Feenstra led the Lady Flames to their first two NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship victories, as Liberty reached the Sweet 16 in 2005.

Feenstra, who ranks fourth on Liberty's all-time scoring list (1,845 points) and second in rebounds (1,033), became the Lady Flames' first WNBA draft pick. She was selected No. 8 overall in the 2005 WNBA Draft by the Connecticut Sun and spent five seasons (2005-09) in the league. Feenstra is in her second year as head women's basketball coach at Cornerstone University.

Frazee (2006-09) was an honorable mention Associated Press All-American as a senior in 2009, punctuating an impressive four years on Liberty Mountain. In both 2008 and 2009, she swept the Big South Player of the Year and Big South Championship MVP awards. Frazee was also a three-time first-team All-Big South performer (2007, 2008 & 2009).

Frazee became the Lady Flames' second WNBA player, after being taken by the San Antonio Silver Stars with the No. 14 pick of the 2009 WNBA Draft. She played two seasons (2009 & 2010) for the Silver Stars and is currently playing for Ramat Hasharon in the Israeli League.

Now in his 15th season as Liberty's head coach, Green guided the Lady Flames to nine Big South titles during the decade of the 2000s and was a five-time Big South Coach of the Year (2000, 2003, 2006, 2008 & 2009). Green's 2004-05 squad defeated Penn State and DePaul to reach the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship. For the decade, Liberty posted a 237-77 overall record, including a 127-13 mark in Big South play.

Wendy Beecher, UNC Asheville
Karen Bowles, Radford
Cathy Coker, Charleston Southern
Denise Ford, Campbell
Stephanie Howard, Radford
Regina McKeithan, Campbell
Joyce Sampson, Radford
Kim Segard, Winthrop
Julie Skinner, Campbell
Terri Woodruff, Coastal Carolina
Head Coach: Charlene Curtis, Radford

Debbie Born, Augusta
Tammy Brown, Campbell
Holly Bottar, Coastal Carolina
Vicki Giffin, UNC Asheville
Laurie Hood, Campbell
Chrissy Kelly, Charleston Southern
Elena Kisseleva, Liberty
Patrinda Toney, Radford
Sharon Wilkerson, Liberty
Shannan Wilkey, Radford
Head Coach: Luby Lichonczak, Radford

Holly Andrews, Elon
Kelli Darden, Radford
Alisha Dill, Coastal Carolina
Ashley Fann, Winthrop
Katie Feenstra, Liberty
Megan Frazee, Liberty

Kristal Hood, UNC Asheville
Katie O'Dell, High Point
Nikki Reddick, Coastal Carolina
Brooke Weisbrod, Coastal Carolina
Head Coach: Carey Green, Liberty