Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Gill Named to AFCA Board of Trustees

January 16, 2014  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Gill Named to AFCA Board of Trustees

Liberty Head Football Coach Turner Gill is one of three new members selected to the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Board of Trustees.

Gill is joined by Duke Head Football Coach David Cutcliffe and Southern Illinois Head Football Coach Dale Lennon as the newest members on the AFCA Board of Trustees. The trio of coaches was elected during this week's 2014 AFCA Convention in Indianapolis, Ind., and announced at Tuesday's Awards Luncheon.

Gill, Cutcliffe and Lennon join a group of distinguished head coaches who guide the organization. The board formulates policy and provides direction for the AFCA, which was founded in 1922 by Amos Alonzo Stagg, John?Heisman and others. The AFCA?has more than 11,000 members from all levels of the profession.

Returning members of the AFCA?Board of Trustees include incoming president Mike Welch of Ithaca College; first vice president Tommy Tuberville of Cincinnati; second vice president Todd Berry of Louisiana-Monroe and third vice president Lee Owens of Ashland.

Gill recently completed his second season as Liberty's head football coach, leading the Flames to their second consecutive Big South title and the program's sixth in the last seven years.

Liberty posted an 8-4 record in 2013 and shared the Big South title with Coastal Carolina. The Flames wrapped up their second title under Gill with a 56-14 victory on the road over No. 16 Charleston Southern during their final game. The victory marked the second-highest ranked team Liberty has defeated on the road in program history.

2014 AFCA Board of Trustees
President Mike Welch, Ithaca College
First Vice President Tommy Tuberville, Cincinnati
Second Vice President Todd Berry, Louisiana-Monroe
Third Vice President Lee Owens, Ashland
David Bailiff, Rice
Craig Bohl, Wyoming
Bill Cronin, Georgetown College (Ky.)
David Cutcliffe, Duke
Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern
Pete Fredenburg, Mary Hardin-Baylor
Turner Gill, Liberty
Dale Lennon, Southern Illinois
Gary Patterson, TCU
Mark Richt, Georgia
Mike Riley, Oregon State
Frank Solich, Ohio
Dino Babers, Bowling Green State, ex officio member and chairman of the Minority Issues Bobby Kennedy, Iowa, ex officio member and chairman of the Assistant Coaches Committee
Sam Knopik, The Pembroke Hill School (Mo.), ex officio member and chairman of the High School Committee
AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff, Secretary/Treasurer