Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Duininck, Nino Named to 2013 Big South Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams

November 11, 2013  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Sam Duininck and Juan Nino were named to 2013 Big South Men's Soccer All-Conference teams.

Sam Duininck and Juan Nino were named to 2013 Big South Men's Soccer All-Conference teams.

Liberty defender Sam Duininck and midfielder Juan Niño have been selected to Big South All-Conference teams, the conference announced this evening.

Selected by the conference's head coaches, Duininck garnered first team all-conference honors, while Niño was named to the second team.

In addition, Niño was also named by the conference's sports information directors to the Big South men's soccer All-Academic team and defender Alex Dominguez was selected to the Big South All-Freshman team.

A two-time Liberty team captain, Duininck was named to the all-conference team for the first time. The senior defender has started every Flames contest this season and will be among the Liberty starting 11 for the 55th consecutive match tomorrow night, as Liberty faces High Point in the Big South Quarterfinals.

The Tulsa, Okla. native has scored one goal and added one assist this season.  His goal was the game-winner in a 1-0 win at American on Sept. 21. In addition, he has been part of five shutouts this season.

Niño receives his first all-conference honor. The midfielder has started and played in 16 games this season. A strong defensive presence and midfield fixture for Liberty, the senior has two assists. One of his assists led to the game-winning overtime goal in a 2-1 victory over Longwood on October 29.

In addition, he was selected to the 2013 men's soccer All-Academic team.  The Katy, Texas native is a three-time Big South Presidential Honor Roll member.

Defender Alex Dominguez has played in 15 matches, starting 13, during his freshman season.  He has one assist, which led to the game-tying goal in Liberty's 2-1 loss to Radford, last Wednesday. In addition, he has had a hand in Liberty's five shutouts.

The Flames (9-8, 5-5 Big South), the No. 7 seed, will travel to High Point, N.C., for a Big South Quarterfinal match against the High Point Panthers (8-7-3, 6-2-2 Big South), the No. 2 seed.  Game time is schedule for 8 p.m. at Vert Stadium.

2013 Big South Men's Soccer Honors

First Team All-Conference
F – Denzel Clark, Gardner-Webb
F –  Mamadee Nyepon, High Point
F – Bernardo Ulmo, Radford
MF – Pedro Ribeiro, Coastal Carolina
MF – Justin Portillo, Coastal Carolina
MF – Ali Al-Gashamy, Gardner-Webb
MF – Adam Sewell, High Point
D – Shawn McLaws, Coastal Carolina
D – Marius Hammersmark, Gardner-Webb
D – Sam Duinick, Liberty
D – Magnus Thorsson, Winthrop
GK – Devin Cook, Coastal Carolina
AL – Ricky Garbanzo, Coastal Carolina

Second Team All-Conference
F – Jhuvon Francis, Campbell
F – Max Hasenstab, Winthrop
F – Achille Obougou, Winthrop
MF – Justin Franz, Campbell
MF – Juan Nino, Liberty
MF – Philip van Berkom, Longwood
MF – Adam Brundle, Winthrop
D – Travis Golden, Campbell
D – Uchenna Uzo, Coastal Carolina
D – Austin Yearwood, High Point
D – Jo Vetle Rimstad, Radford
GK – Kody Palmer, High Point
AL – Rhys Cairns, Longwood

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Sonny Mukungu, High Point
Anthony Ugorji, Longwood
Matt Janssen, Radford
Paul Egle, UNC Asheville
Daniel Kitchen, VMI

Babatunji Osifeso, Campbell
Sergio Carmargo, Coastal Carolina
Kai Morton, Coastal Carolina
Matthew Swan, Gardner-Webb
Iman Mafi, Gardner-Webb
Pat Shelton, High Point
Alex Dominguez, Liberty
Carlos Canas, Longwood
Jo Vetle Rimstad, Radford
Max Hasenstab, Winthrop
Pietro Bottari, Winthrop

Attacking Player of the Year
Pedro Ribeiro, MF, Coastal Carolina

Freshman of the Year
Max Hasenstab, F, Wintrop

Defensive Player of the Year
Shawn McLaws, D, Coastal Carolina

Coach of the Year
Jon Atkinson, Longood

Matthew Oliver, Campbell
Justin Portillo, Coastal Carolina
Brooks Asger, Gardner-Webb
Austin Yearwood, High Point
Juan Nino, Liberty
Philip van Berkom, Longwood
Josh Carter, Presbyterian College
Bernardo Ulmo, Radford
Bobby Castro, UNC Asheville
Hunter Morgan, VMI
|Achille Obougou, Winthrop

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Matthew Oliver, Campbell