Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Larry Blair Named To Big South Conference First Team For Third-Straight Year

February 26, 2007  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Larry Blair earns first team Big South all-conference honors for the third-straight year.

Larry Blair earns first team Big South all-conference honors for the third-straight year.

Larry Blair was named to the Big South all-conference first team for the third-straight year, league officials announced.

Blair (Charlotte, N.C.), the conference's all-time leading scorer with 2,194 points entering the conference tournament, is currently third in the conference in scoring this season, averaging 20.5 points per game. Blair is also pulling down 4.1 rebounds and dishing 3.2 assists per game, while hitting 44.2 percent from the field on 230-of-520 shooting.

With 28 points on Feb. 21 at VMI, Blair passed Tony Dunkin of Coastal Carolina (2,151) for the all-time Big South scoring title, a record that has stood for 14 years. On Saturday at Radford, Blair played in his 121st career game, passing Pierre Wooten of Winthrop for the Big South record in games played. Blair's 794 career field goals is also a Big South record he owns after breaking Dunkin's mark of 775.

"This is an honor that Larry continues to earn," said head coach Randy Dunton. "He receives the respect of his opponent, game-in and game-out with the way they play him. Larry has been an outstanding representation of the university and the basketball program on and off the court."

Russell Monroe was the only other Flame to garner conference honors as he was named to the all-academic team. Monroe (Alma, Mich.) is a sport management major and has a 3.33 cumulative GPA.

The 2006-07 Big South all-conference team:

First-team All-Conference
Arizona Reid, Jr., High Point
Larry Blair, Sr., Liberty
Reggie Williams, Jr., VMI
Michael Jenkins, Jr., Winthrop
Craig Bradshaw, Sr., Winthrop

Second-team All-Conference
Chris Oliver, Sr., Radford
Torrell Martin, Sr., Winthrop
Moses Sonko, Sr., Coastal Carolina
Jack Leasure, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Donnell Covington, Sr., Charleston Southern

All-Freshman Team
Joshua Mack, Coastal Carolina
Amir Johnson, Radford
Eugene Harris, High Point
Shelton Carter, Charleston Southern
Donovan Jones, UNC Asheville

Academic All-Conference
Giedrius Knysas, Soph., Charleston Southern
Jack Leasure, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Troy Bowen, Soph., High Point
Russell Monroe, Jr., Liberty
K.J. Garland, R-Jr., UNC Asheville
Fred Robinson, Sr., VMI

Player of the Year
Arizona Reid, Jr., High Point

Defensive Player of the Year
Travis Holmes, Soph., VMI

Freshman of the Year
Joshua Mack, Coastal Carolina

Coach of the Year
Gregg Marshall, Winthrop

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jack Leasure, Jr., Coastal Carolina