Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Flames Tabbed No. 7 Seed for Big South Men's Tennis Championship

April 15, 2013  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Flames Tabbed No. 7 Seed for Big South Men's Tennis Championship

After finishing their conference slate with a 3-5 record, the Liberty Flames enter the upcoming Big South Conference Men's Tennis Championship as the No. 7 seed. Liberty will face No. 2 seed Campbell on Friday at 12:30 p.m. in Rock Hill, S.C., at the Winthrop Memorial Courts.

Friday's contest will be a rematch of an April 3 meeting between the Flames and the Camels at the Hershey-Esbenshade Tennis Courts. Liberty rallied from a 3-1 deficit, but Campbell clinched the match, 4-3, when Josep Baro outlasted the Flames' Egon Samaai in three sets, 4-6, 6-2, 6-3.

Big South regular-season champion Coastal Carolina captured the No. 1 overall seed after posting a perfect 8-0 record in conference clashes. Following Campbell is the No. 3 seed Presbyterian College Blue Hose, who won the tiebreaker over No. 4 seed Winthrop after both teams finished the season with identical 5-3 conference marks. Radford notched an even 4-4 tally in Big South play, earning the No. 5 seed.

Both Liberty and Gardner Webb concluded conference play with 3-5 records, but with the tiebreaker procedure, the Runnin' Bulldogs garnered the No. 6 position. UNC Asheville (2-6 Big South) follows the Flames in the No. 8 spot, while Longwood completes the seedings in the No. 9 position after notching an 0-8 conference ledger.

The 2013 Big South Men's Tennis Championship begins with one match on Wednesday and continues with quarterfinal contests on Thursday.

2013 Big South Men's Tennis Championship Schedule

Wednesday, April 17 - First Round
Match 1: No. 8 UNC Asheville vs. No. 9 Longwood, 1:00pm ET

Thursday, April 18 - Quarterfinals
Match 2: No. 1 Coastal Carolina vs. Winner Match 1, 8:00am ET
Match 3: No. 4 Winthrop vs. No. 5 Radford, not before 10:00am ET
Match 4: No. 2 Campbell vs. No. 7 Liberty, 12:30pm ET
Match 5: No. 3 Presbyterian College vs. No. 6 Gardner-Webb, 3:30pm ET

Friday, April 19 - Semifinals
Match 6: Winner Match 2 vs. Winner Match 3, 10:00am ET
Match 7: Winner Match 4 vs. Winner Match 5, 2:00pm ET

Saturday, April 20 - Championship
Match 8: Winner Match 6 vs. Winner Match 7, 1:30pm ET