Full Club Sports Schedule

    Team News

    May 14, 2021 Lynchburg, Va. RSS |

    Liberty University's ACHA Division I men's hockey team, which advanced to the National Championship "Frozen Four" for the first time since 2008, was well represented on the 2020-21 All-ACHA DI teams.

    Flames senior forward Quinn Ryan, who was named the ACHA Division I men's hockey Player of the Year last week, was Liberty's only player on the All-ACHA DI First Team. Meanwhile, sophomore defenseman Colin Baird received Second Team status, senior forward and head captain Brock Thompson was selected to the Third Team, and junior goalie Hunter Virostek earned honorable mention recognition.

    As much as the Liberty players excelled on the ice, they also earned academic accolades for their work in the classroom, with a record 14 players honored on the ACHA DI All-Academic team. Joining Ryan and Baird on that squad are senior defensemen Dmytro Kobylyanskyi, Vitaliy Novytskyy, and Chaydan Lauber, senior forwards Sam Carlson, Ryan Cox, and Cole Gammer, sophomore forwards Zak Albers, Matt Bartel, and Devin Melice, junior goalie Tyler Myers, sophomore goalie Cedric LeSieur, and sophomore defenseman Thomas Nagle.