Full Club Sports Schedule

    Team News

    May 25, 2022 Lynchburg, Va. RSS |

    Liberty University’s men’s lacrosse team was recognized with five MCLA Division I All-America selections, including two on the First Team — sophomore midfielder Keaton Mohs and freshman defender Matthew Walker.

    Graduate attack Carter Elliott was named to the Second Team, while graduate goalie Ryan Reynolds and freshman middie Will Geary earned Honorable Mention recognition.

    “It was great for them as individuals to have that honor and receive All-America status, and great that the MCLA has returned to announcing those teams after not being able to have any MCLA All-Americans over the past two years,” Flames Head Coach Kyle McQuillan said, noting that the two first-team honorees matches the total from the previous seven seasons.

    He said Mohs was an obvious First Team pick, while the selection of Walker, who transferred in from NCAA Division II Limestone (S.C.) University last fall, was less expected.

    “Keaton is probably one of the most dynamic players in the MCLA and as long as he stays healthy, we’re always going to see him in the running for an award like this,” McQuillan said. “Any time one of our guys gets recognition for individual awards on the defensive side of the ball, that is really a testament to Matt because of impression he made on opposing teams’ coaches (who did the voting). He was a great addition for us. We knew he was going to be an impact player, but were surprised at how influential he was on the defensive side of the ball.”

    Graduate goalie Ryan Reynolds and freshman middie Will Geary received MCLA DI Honorable Mention status.

    He said Elliott could very easily have been a third First Team choice while Reynolds might have made a case for Second or Third Team status.

    “This was probably the deepest that I’ve ever seen the MCLA be for goalies, which is why Ryan only received honorable mention,” McQuillan said. “We know how good he is, but there were so many really strong goalies this year, including the MCLA Player of the Year, which is usually someone on attack.”

    BYU goalie Mason Moon was chosen as the MCLA DI Player of the Year while Virginia Tech Head Coach Panchito Ojeda was honored as the Flip Naumburg Coach of the Year. Liberty lost to both the Cougars and the Hokies when they were ranked No. 1 and No. 2 in MCLA Division I, respectively.

    The Flames (11-4) remained at No. 6 in the final MCLA DI rankings — behind South Carolina (which defended its national title from 2019), runner-up Georgia Tech, BYU, Virginia Tech, and Clemson. Clemson avenged a loss to the Flames in last season’s inaugural ALC Tournament championship game, toppling them in this season’s ALC semifinals. USC paid back a regular-season-opening loss at Liberty by eliminating the Flames in the MCLA quarterfinals in Round Rock, Texas.

    McQuillan expects four more Flames student-athletes to be named to the MCLA DI Academic All-America team in June, with All-Atlantic Lacrosse Conference team members who maintained GPAs of 3.2 or higher eligible.

    By Ted Allen/Staff Writer

    2022 MCLA Division I All-America Teams

    First Team
    A – Aidan Smith, Virginia Tech
    A – Seth Garff, Brigham Young
    A – Garret Brennan, Clemson
    A – Sam Weis, South Carolina
    M – Liam Nelson, Chapman
    M – William Ciccarelli, Clemson
    M – Keaton Mohs, Liberty
    M – Connor Griffin, South Carolina
    SSDM – Zach Davis, Virginia Tech
    FOS – Will Frith, South Carolina
    LSM – Kevin Ritter, Clemson
    D – Rob Richardson, Brigham Young
    D – Parker Beeson, Florida
    D – Matthew Walker, Liberty
    D – Walker Everhardt, Virginia Tech
    G – Mason Moon, Brigham Young

    Second Team
    A – Jake Halverson, Brigham Young
    A – Carter Elliot, Liberty
    A – Nate Graslewicz, Minnesota
    A – Brad Thompson, North Carolina State
    M – Harri Hetrick, USC
    M – Sam Eck, Georgia Tech
    M – Micah Grim, California
    M – Gage Duchon, Northeastern
    SSDM – Stefan Mostovych, Florida
    FOS – Caden Poe, Concordia-Irvine
    LSM – Nick Schirmer, Oregon State
    D – Chris Greenberg, South Carolina
    D – Taylor Mason, Brigham Young
    D – Cole Ramsey, Dominican
    D – Nick Bernardo, New Hampshire
    G – Hunter LeClair, Virginia Tech

    Third Team
    A – Jared Cole, Virginia Tech
    A – Luke Mikolajewski, Cal Poly
    A – Alton Taylor, Brigham Young
    A – Coston Pendleton, Clemson
    A – Mason DePaola, Arizona
    M – Caleb Monzon, LSU
    M – Nick Luzzo, Boston College
    M – Ian Obert, Minnesota
    M – Brooks Baro, Georgia Tech
    M – Jack McIntyre, Colorado
    SSDM – Jack Ronan, California
    FOS – Alec Frank, Clemson
    LSM – Ian Takas, Arizona
    D – Finn Meagher, California
    D – Jake Cloutier, Concordia-Irvine
    D – Remington Peterson, Utah Valley
    D – Alex Napgezek, Minnesota
    D – Donovan Econn, USC
    G – Gino Pagliaro, Georgia Tech

    Honorable Mention
    A – Chad Renslow, Utah Valley
    A – Ryan Kerr, South Florida
    A – Carson Lombardi, Santa Clara
    A – Brendan Cook, California
    A – Johnny Stanton, South Carolina
    A – Ryan Henning, Boise State
    A – Connor Stoker, Minnesota
    M – Matthew Lockman, Texas Christian
    M – Will Geary, Liberty
    M – Cole Koeberer, Colorado State
    M – Jack Rogers, Arizona State
    M – Riordan Shina, Georgia
    M – Ryder Mora, USC
    M – Conor Zachar, California
    M – Jack Watters, USC
    SSDM – Ashten Matheny, Utah Valley
    FOS – Christian DeAngelis, Texas
    FOS – Johnny Rioux, Michigan State
    LSM – Ray Raefski, South Florida
    LSM – Kale Kissell, Colorado State
    LSM – Noah Gibson, Dominican
    D – Grif Hawblitzel, Cal Poly
    D – Nick Hofstad, Minnesota
    D – Tyler Schaeffer, Florida
    D – Mathias Biland, Michigan State
    D – Camden Morris, Chapman
    D – Drew Blasbough, North Carolina State
    D – Zach Zirpolo, Texas Christian
    D – Branden Schneider, Concordia-Irvine
    G – Jack Courington, Minnesota
    G – Ryan Reynolds, Liberty
    G – Matt Corazon, Florida