School of Religion

Academics

Departments

Centers & Ministries

Meet the Faculty

School of Religion Faculty

Deans 

Dr. Ben Gutierrez
Administrative Dean for Undergraduate Programs
Professor of Religion
bgutierrez@liberty.edu
RH 143
(434) 592-6295
Dr. Ed Hindson
Dean, School of Religion
Dean, Institute of Biblical Studies
Distinguished Professor of Biblical Studies and Religion
ehindson@liberty.edu
RH 107
(434) 582-7711
Dr. Gabriel Etzel
Associate Dean, School of Religion
Associate Professor of Religion
Director, Christian Leadership and Management Program
gbetzel@liberty.edu
RH 109
(434) 582-2568
Dr. John Cartwright
Assistant Dean, School of Religion
Assistant Professor of Religion 
jbcartwright@liberty.edu
RH 109
(434) 582-2565

Department Chairs

Dr. Mark Allen
Department Chair, Biblical and Theological Studies
Associate Professor of Biblical Studies
Director, Biblical Languages Program
mdallen5@liberty.edu
RH 143
(434) 592-6295
Professor Jonathan Geukgeuzian
Department Chair, Christian Leadership and Church Ministries
Executive Director, Center for Youth Ministries
Associate Professor of Christian Leadership and Church Ministries
jgeukgeuzian@liberty.edu
RH 127
(434) 582-2350
Professor Melody Harper
Department Chair, Global Studies
Assistant Professor of Global Studies
Director, Global Studies Program

mharper39@liberty.edu
GH 2510
(434) 582-2636
Professor Chris Hulshof
Department Chair 
Assistant Professor of Religion
chhulshof@liberty.edu
RH 109
(434) 582-7198
Dr. Scott Phillips
Department Chair, School of Religion, LU Online
Associate Professor of Religion
sbphilli@liberty.edu
RH 142
(434) 582-2749
Dr. Rick Rasberry
Department Chair, School of Religion, LU Online
Associate Professor of Religion
rlrasber@liberty.edu
RH 106
(434) 582-7718
Dr. Martin Sheldon
Department Chair, School of Religion, LU Online
Assistant Professor of Religion
mesheldo@liberty.edu
RH 141
(434) 582-2504
Dr. Troy Temple
Department Chair, School of Religion, LU Online
Professor of Religion
twtemple@liberty.edu
RH 152
(434) 592-4653
Dr. Lew Weider
Director, Christian/Community Service
Associate Professor of Contemporary Issues
laweider@liberty.edu
GH 1880
(434) 582-2453
 

Program Directors

Dr. David Adams
Director, Pastoral Leadership Program
Professor of Biblical Studies and Pastoral Ministries
deadams2@liberty.edu
RH 145
(434) 592-4956
Dr. Monica Rose Brennan
Director, Women's Ministries Program
Associate Professor of Christian Leadership and Church Ministries
mdrose@liberty.edu
RH 122
(434) 582-2963
Dr. Joshua Chatraw
Director, Center for Apologetics and Cultural Engagement
Associate Professor of Theology and Apologetics
jdchatraw@liberty.edu
RH  144
(434) 592-7769
Dr. Richard Alan Fuhr, Jr.
Director, Biblical Studies Programs
Associate Professor of Biblical Studies
rafuhr@liberty.edu
RH 146
(434) 582-7108
Professor Doug Gilmer
Director, Adventure Leadership and Outdoor Ministry Program
Adjunct Professor of Adventure Leadership and Outdoor Ministry
Dr. J. Randall Price
Executive Director, Center for Judaic Studies
Distinguished Research Professor
jrprice4@liberty.edu
Jerry Falwell Library Terrace Level 061
(434) 592-3249

 

Faculty

Dr. Don Alban
Associate Professor of Global Studies and Biblical Studies
dalban@liberty.edu
GH 2510
(434) 582-2484
James BorlandDr. James Borland
Professor of Biblical Studies and Theology
jborland@liberty.edu
RH 147
(434) 582-2586
Dr. Wayne Brindle
Professor of Biblical Studies
wabrindl@liberty.edu
RH 150
(434) 582-2446
Dr. Richard Brown
Assistant Professor of Youth Ministries
Faculty Director, YouthQuest
rsbrown@liberty.edu
RH 127
(434) 582-7597
Professor Rick Buck
Professor of Biblical Studies
rbuck@liberty.edu
Robert van EngenDr. Robert Van Engen
Assistant Director, Christian/Community Service
Assistant Professor of Contemporary Issues

rvanengen@liberty.edu
GH 1880
(434) 582-2326
Dr. Donald Fowler
Professor of Biblical Studies
dfowler@liberty.edu
RH 148
(434) 582-2668
Dr. Chris Gnanakan
Professor of Theology and Global Studies  
cgnanakan@liberty.edu
RH 147
(434) 582-2568
Dr. Harvey Hartman
Professor of Biblical Studies
hdhartma@liberty.edu
RH 151
(434) 582-2579
Dr. Will Honeycutt
Assistant Director, Christian/Community Service
Assistant Professor of Contemporary Issues
whoneycutt@liberty.edu
GH 1880
(434) 582-2152
Gaylen LeverettDr. Gaylen Leverett
Associate Professor of Theology
gplevere@liberty.edu
RH 140
(434) 582-2019
Professor Don Love
Assistant Professor of Religion
drlove@liberty.edu
RH 149
(434) 582-7425
Dr. Troy Matthews
Associate Director, Christian/Community Service
Associate Professor of Contemporary Issues
tmatthews@liberty.edu
GH 1880
(434) 582-2357
Dr. John Morrison
Professor of Theology
dmorrison@liberty.edu
RH 128
(434) 582-2185
Dr. Stephen Putney
Assistant Director, Christian/Community Service
Associate Professor of Contemporary Issues
sputney@liberty.edu
GH 1880
(434) 582-2157
Jeff RitcheyDr. Jeff Ritchey
Associate Chairman, Global Studies
Assistant Professor of Global Studies
jritchey@liberty.edu
GH 2510
(434) 582-2585
Dr. Rusty Small
Assistant Professor of Theology 
rnsmall@liberty.edu
RH 143
(434) 426-4878
Dr. Michael Smith
Associate Professor of Biblical Studies
mjsmith2@liberty.edu
RH 153
(434) 592-3450
Dr. Steve Vandegriff
Director, Scaremare
Professor of Youth Ministries
svandegriff@liberty.edu
RH 127
(434) 582-2328
David WheelerDr. David Wheeler
Director of Center for Ministry Training 
Professor of Evangelism and Student Ministry 
dwheeler2@liberty.edu
Dorm 17
Room 111
(434) 592-4161
Darren Wu Dr. Darren Wu
Christian/Community Service Coordinator
Assistant Professor of Contemporary Issues

dcwu@liberty.edu
GH 1880
(434) 582-2416
 

Retired Faculty  

Dr. Paul Fink
Professor of Biblical Studies and Pastoral Ministry Dr. James Stevens
Professor of Religion