When autocomplete options are available, use up and down arrows to review and enter to select.
Apply Give

Liberty News

Five added to Liberty Athletics Hall of Fame

September 22, 2012 : Liberty University Athletics

Liberty Athletics 2012 Hall of Fame class (from left): Mark Chafin, Sharon (Sondgrass) May, John Sanders, Jesse Castro, and Ryan Werner.

Five new members were inducted into the Liberty Athletics Hall of Fame Friday night at the annual Hall of Fame banquet, held on the Club Pavilion of the Williams Stadium Tower.

The class, the fourth to be inducted into the Liberty Athletics Hall of Fame, included Jesse Castro (wrestling), Mark Chafin (men's basketball), John Sanders (football), Sharon (Snodgrass) May (women's basketball), and Ryan Werner (men's track & field).

This year's class will also be recognized during a special halftime ceremony at Saturday's football game against Lehigh at Williams Stadium. Kickoff is set for 7 p.m.

The Liberty Athletics Hall of Fame celebrates those who helped shape the face of Liberty Athletics. The Hall of Fame's now 22 members have each played a key role in helping Liberty grow from an NCCAA program in 1972 to its current status as a thriving NCAA Division I program today.

Chat Live
Request Info
Apply Now
Visit Liberty