Skip to content
When autocomplete options are available, use up and down arrows to review and enter to select.

Liberty News

Liberty celebrates official entry into ASUN Conference

July 2, 2018 : Liberty University Athletics

July 1, 2018 marked Liberty University Athletics’ first official day as a member of the ASUN Conference, a move that was announced at a press conference on May 17, 2018.

Eight of Liberty’s nine NCAA Division I men’s programs have now moved to the ASUN (baseball, men’s basketball, men’s cross country, men’s golf, men’s soccer, men’s tennis, and men’s indoor and outdoor track & field), along with nine of Liberty’s 11 NCAA Division I women’s programs (women’s basketball, women’s cross country, women’s lacrosse, women’s soccer, softball, women’s tennis, women’s indoor and outdoor track & field, and volleyball).

The only programs not making the conference move are Liberty’s football program, which will begin its first season as an FBS independent this coming season, along with field hockey (BIG EAST Conference), and women’s swimming and diving (CCSA).

Over the weekend, Liberty shared a social media post thanking the Big South Conference for hosting Liberty Flames Athletics for the past 27 years.

The ASUN Conference, headquartered in Macon, Ga., is an NCAA Division I league committed to Building Winners for Life. The ASUN meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete.

With the addition of Liberty, the ASUN expands its footprint into the state of Virginia for the first time in conference history. With Liberty joining the ASUN, the league resides in six states and features eight of the top-80 media markets in the nation. The ASUN includes a blend of private and public institutions: Florida Gulf Coast University (Fort Myers, Fla.), Jacksonville University (Jacksonville, Fla.), Kennesaw State University (Kennesaw, Ga.), Lipscomb University (Nashville, Tenn.), New Jersey Institute of Technology (Newark, N.J.), University of North Florida (Jacksonville, Fla.), and Stetson University (DeLand, Fla.). The University of North Alabama (Florence, Ala.) will also join the league for the 2018-19 season.

During the next two weeks, Liberty Athletics will introduce Flames Nation to the ASUN Conference with a variety of content, both on its website and social media accounts. The coverage will include profiles on each of the ASUN Conference members and ASUN Conference schedules for each sport. (Read more about the ASUN move, including schedule release dates and answers to frequently asked questions.)

Follow the coverage at and on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

chat live 2 Chat Live
Asset 1 Request Info
Asset 1 Apply Now
visit Visit Liberty