Library Alert: Let us know what you think of the new website! To temporarily go to the old website, simply click here. x

History

A to Z Maps

145K+ maps from all over the world, both antique and modern covering political and physical themes.

Accessible Archives

Accessible Archives contains 19th and 20th century primary material found in leading historic periodicals and books.

ACLS Humanities E-Book

Contains over 3,300 humanities e-books. They are full-text searchable, but you can also browse the collection by title, author, or subject.

America: History and Life with Full Text

Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Has indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present and provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.

Daily Life through History

Covers the major aspects of daily life from 10,000 BC to today through images, definitions, articles, and Enduring Questions, which are peer-reviewed essays by experts that address major issues of the day.

Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts

A full-text searchable database of early writing concerning Protestantism. You can search the entire database or browse by works, authors, topics, genres, or religious traditions.

Early American Imprints, Series I & II: Evans & Shaw Shoemaker

The definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th, 18th, and early 19th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, and more.

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819

A comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century.

Early Republic

Primary material documenting the actions, debates, and thoughts of the First Federal Congress and its members.

EEBO (Early English Books Online)

Includes over 125,000 scanned early English books. These include titles by John Locke, Captain John Smith, William Shakespeare, and many, many more. The e-books can be viewed in your browser or downloaded as PDF documents.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

JSTOR

Provides full text electronic access to back issues of over 1,000 core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

L’Annee Philologique

A specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.

Making of Modern Law

Full-text collection of Anglo-American legal treatises from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Contains over 21,000 works regarding British Commonwealth and American law. Includes casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.

PapersFirst

An index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Coverage: 1993-present.

Periodicals Archive Online

Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.

Proceedings

An index of worldwide conference proceedings. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Coverage: 1993-present.

Project MUSE: Humanities & Social Science

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable, and user-friendly online access to a number of high quality humanities and social sciences journals from many scholarly publishers.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Chicago Tribune (1890 - 1984); the The New York Times (1851 - 2001); and The Washington Post (1877 - 1988).

Wiley Online Library

Allows you to search a large collection of books and peer-reviewed journals for specific topics, or to browse by a variety of biology and chemistry related subjects.

World History in Video

World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.

World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean serves the needs of students and researchers by bringing together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean.