Jeremy White Wins Seventh Annual 2L/3L Moot Court Oral Advocacy Tournament and Heather Wooldridge Wins Best Brief

October 06, 2011

Jeremy White (Class of 2012) won the Seventh Annual 2L/3L Moot Court Tournament on Saturday, September 24, 2011. The tournament, hosted by Liberty’s Moot Court Board for second and third year law students at Liberty, was held in the law school’s Supreme Courtroom.  Mark Hicks (Class of 2012) was named runner-up.  

Twenty-two students within the second and third year classes voluntarily competed in this year’s tournament.  Heather Wooldridge (Class of 2013) won the Best Brief.

The case for this year served as the first homegrown problem pertaining to relevant legal issues nationwide and was initially developed last year by 2011 Liberty law alumni Jennifer Stevens, Hannah Reichel, and Rachel Marshall, along with current law student Clint Carwile (Class of 2012). Fictitious characters, Jennifer and Gregory Stephens, were selected for a whole body-imaging scan as part of an airport security check regulation required by the Transportation Security Administration (TSA). The petitioners claimed their Fourth Amendment rights were violated while attempting to travel.

“I was once again extremely pleased with the quality of the advocacy. Jeremy White and Mark Hicks were both outstanding in the final round and the judges affirmed that in their comments. Both advocates were well poised under intense questioning,” added Professor Scott Thompson, Director of the Center for Lawyering Skills of Liberty University School of Law. “Mr. White was masterful in the polish of his argument and the passion with which he delivered it. Our students once again rose to the challenge of delivering their finest arguments in front of nine distinguished jurists.”

The bench for the final round consisted of a highly accomplished judiciary including the Honorable David S. Cayer, United States District Court for the Western District of North Carolina; the Honorable B. Waugh Crigler, United States District Court for the Western District of Virginia; the Honorable Robert M. Evans, Ninth Judicial Circuit Court of Florida; the Honorable Keith G. Kautz, Eighth Judicial District of Wyoming; the Honorable William D. Palmer, Florida Fifth District Court of Appeal; the Honorable John M. Rogers, United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit;  the Honorable James C. Turk, United States District Court for the Western District of Virginia; the Honorable Robert G. Ulrich, Missouri Western District Court of Appeals, retired; and the Honorable Lee Yeakel, United States District Court for the Western District of Texas.