Faculty & Staff for Community Care and Counseling

Faculty

See all Program Directors listed by school and program name. 


Ed Barker, Ph.D.

Professor
ebarker@liberty.edu

Dr. Barker has spent nearly 20 years in Sweden, where he served as Head of English instruction for two institutions, as well as being a Certified Cambridge Examiner in English and spoke in numerous European countries on Christian education related topics. His areas of emphasis in counseling include Crisis Intervention, Trauma, PTSD, Sexual Abuse and Assault, Psychology of Criminal Behavior, and negative coping behaviors.

 


Tim Clinton, Ed.D.

Professor
timclinton@aol.com

Dr. Clinton serves as the President of American Association of Christian Counselors as well as the President of Light Counseling Inc. He is a prolific writer bringing a significant contribution with his books to the field of Christian Counseling.


John Durden

Online Chair & Assessment Coordinator
jadurden@liberty.edu

 

Dr. Durden is associate professor in theology and department chair for the online program. He has 30 plus years of pastoral ministry experience in the areas of youth and worship, associate pastor, pastor, and hospital chaplain. His family (7 children and 15+ grandchildren) enjoys a multitude of outdoor activities such as camping, hiking, hunting, and fishing.


Scott Hawkins, Ph.D.

Residential Chair
smhawkins@liberty.edu

 

Dr. Scott Hawkins has over 20 years of experience in crisis, outpatient, intensive in-home and residential treatment settings in private and public sector. His research interests include the areas of childhood, adolescence, premarital, marriage and family, parenting, crisis intervention, and therapeutic outdoor recreation.


Dave Hirschman

Associate Dean
dwhirschman@liberty.edu

 

Dr. David Hirschman was an early student at what was then Liberty Baptist College. He left in 1982 to begin a twenty-three year ministry as a church planter/senior pastor in southern Maryland and then returned to Liberty University in 2005 to complete doctoral studies and join the faculty of the Seminary. He and his wife Cheryl are parents to Tim and Ashlie Hirschman and Jen and Josh Chapmon, all of whom are LU graduates. With more than thirty years of pastoral experience, Dr. Hirschman serves and speaks regularly at churches in Virginia, Maryland, and North Carolina.


Allen D. Meyer, Ph.D.

Online Chair & MA Human Services Program Director
admeyer@liberty.edu

Allen is associate professor and department chair for the online program. He was tenured associate professor at Taylor University, was president for ten years of a psychological diagnostics company with contracts providing services to federal and state agencies, and for the past ten years has taught in numerous online programs. He was one of the first instructional mentors in the LUO program, and since 2011 has been department chair.


Clay Peters, Ed.D.

EdD Community Care & Counseling Program Director
cpeters@liberty.edu

Dr. Peter's experience include both clinical practice as well as psychosocial assessment, namely he performs competency to stand trial evaluations for juveniles for the Virginia court system. His research interests include personality disorders, criminal behavior and personality testing for parents whose children remained in foster care.


Dwight Rice, DMin., Ph.D,

Online Chair & MA Pastoral Counseling Program Director
dcrice@liberty.edu

 

Dr. Dwight Rice has over 30 years of experience in ministry’s highly relational network. His vocational and academic training has produced effective strategies for short-term pastoral counseling and church growth coaching, especially during transitions. His research interests include spiritual formation, development of emotional intelligence and leadership capital, behavioral assessments, and the skillful use of hobbies in story-tuning.


Amanda Melton

Amanda Melton

Administrator
ahmelton@liberty.edu

 

 

Vanessa Bhalla

Vanessa Bhalla

Administrative Assistant
vvbhalla@liberty.edu

 

 

Sarah Comfort

Sarah Comfort

Faculty Support Coordinator
scomfort@liberty.edu

 

 

Christiana Hummel

Christiana Hummel

Student Support Coordinator
cghummel@liberty.edu

 

 

Keaghlan Macon

Keaghlan Macon

Curriculum Support Coordinator
kmacon5@liberty.edu