You are here: Home > Academics > School of Music

Faculty Listing By Discipline

Applied Instruction:

 

Areas of Emphasis:


Brass Faculty

Dr. Kevin Chiarizzio, BM, MM, DMA
Associate Professor of Music Education,
Brass
(434) 582-2512
kchiarizzio@liberty.edu

Mr. Drew Phillips, BM, MA
Assistant Professor of Music,
Horn
atphillips2@liberty.edu

Mr. Larry Seipp, BM, MM
Assistant Professor of Music,
Trumpet
lmseipp@liberty.edu

 

Guitar Faculty

Dr. Sean Beavers, BM, MM, DM
Chair, Department of Applied Music Studies
Associate Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 582-2289
sbeavers@liberty.edu

Dr. Michael Brennan, BM, MM, DM
Associate Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 592-4920
mbrennan@liberty.edu

Mr. Leon Neto, BCM, BMEd, MM, DMA(abd)
Assistant Professor of Music,
Guitar and Voice
(434) 592-4683
lneto@liberty.edu

Mr. Dwight Spencer, BM, MM
Assistant Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 592-5930
ddspencer@liberty.edu


Percussion Faculty

Dr. Kevin Super, BM, MM, DMA
Professor of Music,
Percussion
(434) 582-2593
ksuper@liberty.edu

 

Piano Faculty

Dr. Paul Rumrill, BA, MM, DMA
Chair, Department of Music Education
Associate Professor of Music Education
Coordinator of Piano Studies
(434) 582-2218
prumrill@liberty.edu

Dr. Samuel Wellman, BA, MM, DM
Professor of Music,
Piano and Composition
(434) 582-2097
swellman@liberty.edu

Mr. Tad Hardin, BM, MM, DM
Instructor of Piano
pthardin@liberty.edu

Dr. Taeseong Kim, BM, MM, DMA
Associate Professor of Music,
Piano
(434) 592-4603
tkim@liberty.edu

Ms. Kazuyo Shimizu, BM, MM
Instructor of Piano
kshimizu@liberty.edu

Dr. Daniel Suttles, BRE, BM, MM, DMA
Associate Professor of Music,
Piano and Conducting
(434) 582-2307
dsuttles@liberty.edu

Ms. Kathryn Voelker, BA, MA, DA(abd)
Assistant Professor of Music Education,
Piano
(434) 582-2511
klvoelker@liberty.edu

 


Songwriting Faculty

Mr. Don Marsh, BM, MS
Associate Professor of Music and Worship,
Songwriting
(434) 592-5706
dmarsh@liberty.edu

 

String Faculty

Mr. David Feldman, BA, MM
Associate Professor of Cello and Bass
dfeldman@liberty.edu

Mrs. Reka Jobbagy, BM, MA
Instructor of Violin 
rjobbagy@liberty.edu

Dr. Luca Trombetta, MD, MM, DMA
Assistant Professor of Music, 
Viola & Violin 
dltrombetta@liberty.edu

 

Voice Faculty

Mrs. Patricia Campbell, BA, MM, DMA(abd)
Associate Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 582-2561
pcampbell@liberty.edu

Dr. Mindy Damon, BM, MM, Ed.S, Ed.D 
Assistant Professor of Commercial Music,
Voice
(434) 582-7317
bmparrish@liberty.edu

Dr. Ruth Foley, BA, B.Ed, MA, MM, DMA
Associate Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 582-2216
rifoley@liberty.edu

Mrs. Linda Granger, BA, MM
Associate Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 582-2217
lzgranger@liberty.edu

Dr. Mark Greenawalt, BM, MM, DMA
Assistant Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 592-3867 
mgreenawalt@liberty.edu

Mr. David Hahn, BM, MM
Assistant Professor of Music and Worship,
Voice
(434) 592-5704
dmhahn@liberty.edu

Dr. John W. Hugo, BM, MM, MM, DMA
Chair, Department of Music
Professor of Music,
Voice and Conducting
(434) 582-2359
jwhugo@liberty.edu

Dr. Rick Jupin, BM, MM, DMA
Assistant Professor of Music and Worship,
Voice
(434) 582-2208
rmjupin@liberty.edu

Dr. Wayne Kompelien, BME, MM, DMA
Professor of Music,
Voice
Director of Opera Workshop
(434) 582-2364
wbkompel@liberty.edu

 

Woodwind Faculty

Mrs. Alycia Hugo, BM, MM
Assistant Professor of Music,
Flute
ahugo@liberty.edu

 


Commercial Music Faculty

Mrs. Mindy Damon, BM, MM, Ed.S, Ed.D(abd) 
Associate Professor of Commercial Music,
Voice
(434) 582-7317
bmparrish@liberty.edu

Mr. Don Marsh, BM, MS
Associate Professor of Music and Worship,
Songwriting
(434) 592-5706
dmarsh@liberty.edu

Mr. Edwin Parker, BM, MM
Assistant Professor of Jazz Studies
(434) 592-6565
weparker@liberty.edu

Dr. David Schmal, BS, BA, MA, MA, DMA
Associate Professor of Commercial Music
(434) 582-2219
dkschmal@liberty.edu


Conducting Faculty

Dr. Daniel Suttles, BRE, BM, MM, DMA
Associate Professor of Music,
Piano and Conducting
(434) 582-2307
dsuttles@liberty.edu

 


Ethnomusicology Faculty

Dr. John Benham, BM, MA, Ed.D
Professor of Worship and Ethnomusicology
(434) 582-2219
jbenham@liberty.edu

Dr. George McDow, BME, MME, Ph.D
LUO Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology 
ghmcdow@liberty.edu

Dr. Jeff Meyer, BM, MA, Ph.D
LUO Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology 
jtmeyer@liberty.edu

Dr. Katherine Morehouse, BA, MA, Ph.D
LUO Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology 
khmorehouse@liberty.edu


Graduate Studies Faculty

Dr. Sean Beavers, BM, MM, DM
Chair, Department of Applied Music Studies
Associate Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 582-2289
sbeavers@liberty.edu

Dr. Michael Brennan, BM, MM, DM
Associate Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 592-4920
mbrennan@liberty.edu

Dr. Mark Greenawalt, BM, MM, DMA
Assistant Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 592-3867 
mgreenawalt@liberty.edu

Dr. Rick Jupin, BM, MM, DMA
Assistant Professor of Music and Worship,
Voice
(434) 582-2208
rmjupin@liberty.edu

Dr. Paul Rumrill, BA, MM, DMA
Chair, Department of Music Education
Associate Professor of Music Education
Coordinator of Piano Studies
(434) 582-2218
prumrill@liberty.edu

Dr. Daniel Suttles, BRE, BM, MM, DMA
Associate Professor of Music,
Piano and Conducting
(434) 582-2307
dsuttles@liberty.edu

Dr. Doug Crawley, BM, MCM, DMA
Associate Dean, Center for Music and Worship
Coordinator of Graduate Worship Studies
Assistant Professor of Worship 
(434) 592-7409
dcrawley3@liberty.edu

Dr. L. Lavon Gray, BS, MCM, Ph.D
Assistant Professor of Worship Studies
llgray2@liberty.edu

Dr. John Baker Thomas, BM, MM, Ed.D 
Assistant Professor of Worship Studies 
jbthomas2@liberty.edu

Dr. Ron Upton, BBA, MRE, D.Min
LUO Assistant Professor of Worship Studies 
rdupton@liberty.edu

Dr. Rodney Whaley, BA, MA, M.Div, D.Min
LUO Assistant Professor of Worship Studies 
rdwhaley@liberty.ed

 


Music Education Faculty

Dr. Paul Rumrill, BA, MM, DMA
Chair, Department of Music Education
Associate Professor of Music Education
Coordinator of Piano Studies
(434) 582-2218
prumrill@liberty.edu

Dr. Stephen Muller, BM, MM, D.Min
Assistant Professor of Music Education
(434) 582-2377
swmuller@liberty.edu

Dr. Kevin Chiarizzio, BM, MM, DMA
Associate Professor of Music Education,
Brass
(434) 582-2512
kchiarizzio@liberty.edu

Ms. Kathryn Voelker, BA, MA, DA(abd)
Assistant Professor of Music Education,
Piano
(434) 582-2511
klvoelker@liberty.edu