School of Music

View Centers

Faculty Listing By Discipline

Applied Instruction:

* To schedule an audition, please contact the area coordinator for each applied instrument group.

Areas of Emphasis:


Brass Faculty

* Area Coordinator *
Dr. Cassandra Hibbard, B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Coordinator of Wind and Brass Studies
Assistant Professor of Music,
Clarinet
(434) 592-7730
chibbard@liberty.edu


Dr. Kevin Chiarizzio, B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Associate Professor of Music Education,
Brass
(434) 582-2512
kchiarizzio@liberty.edu

Mr. Drew Phillips, B.M., M.A.
Assistant Professor of Music,
Horn
atphillips2@liberty.edu

Mr. Larry Seipp, B.M., M.M.
Assistant Professor of Music,
Trumpet
lmseipp@liberty.edu


Guitar Faculty

* Area Coordinator *
Dr. Michael Brennan, B.M., M.M., D.M.
Coordinator of Guitar Studies
Associate Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 592-4920
mbrennan@liberty.edu

Dr. Sean Beavers, B.M., M.M., D.M.
Associate Dean, Center for Music and Performing Arts
Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 582-2289
sbeavers@liberty.edu


Mr. Keith Cooper, B.M., M.A.
Assistant Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 582-2560
kcooper21@liberty.edu

 
Mr. Leon Neto, B.C.M., B.M.Ed., M.M., D.M.A.(abd)
Assistant Professor of Music,
Guitar and Voice
(434) 592-4683
lneto@liberty.edu

Mr. Dwight Spencer, B.M., M.M.
Assistant Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 592-5930
ddspencer@liberty.edu

 


Percussion Faculty

* Area Coordinator *
Dr. Cassandra Hibbard, B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Coordinator of Wind and Brass Studies
Assistant Professor of Music,
Clarinet
(434) 592-7730
chibbard@liberty.edu
Dr. Kevin Super, B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Professor of Music,
Percussion
(434) 582-2593
ksuper@liberty.edu

Piano Faculty


* Area Coordinator *
Dr. Tad Hardin, B.M., M.M., D.M.
Coordinator of Piano Studies
Assistant Professor of Piano
(434) 592-6566
pthardin@liberty.edu
 

Dr. Taeseong Kim, B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Associate Professor of Music,
Piano
(434) 592-4603
tkim@liberty.edu

Dr. Woori Kim, M.M., Artist Diploma, D.M.A.
Assistant Professor of Music,
Piano
(434) 592-7728
wkim1@liberty.edu

Dr. Paul Rumrill, B.A., M.M., D.M.A.
Chair, Department of Music Education
Associate Professor of Music Education
(434) 582-2218
prumrill@liberty.edu

Ms. Kazuyo Shimizu, B.M., M.M.
Instructor of Piano
kshimizu@liberty.edu

Dr. Daniel Suttles, B.R.E., B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Associate Professor of Music,
Piano and Conducting
(434) 582-2307
dsuttles@liberty.edu

Dr. Kathryn Voelker, B.A., M.A., D.A.
Assistant Professor of Music Education,
Piano
(434) 582-2511
klvoelker@liberty.edu

Dr. Samuel Wellman, B.A., M.M., D.M.
Professor of Music,
Piano and Composition
(434) 582-2097
swellman@liberty.edu


Songwriting Faculty

Mr. Don Marsh, B.M., M.S.
Associate Professor of Music and Worship,
Songwriting
(434) 592-5706
dmarsh@liberty.edu

 

String Faculty

* Area Coordinator *
Dr. Luca Trombetta, M.D., M.M., D.M.A.
Coordinator of String Studies
Assistant Professor of Music, 
Viola & Violin 
(434) 582-2795
dltrombetta@liberty.edu

Mr. David Feldman, B.A., M.M.
Associate Professor of Cello and Bass
dfeldman@liberty.edu

Mrs. Reka Jobbagy, B.M., M.A.
Instructor of Violin 
rjobbagy@liberty.edu

 

Voice Faculty


* Area Coordinator *
Dr. Stephen Muller, B.M., M.M., D.Min.
Coordinator of Vocal Studies
Assistant Professor of Music Education
(434) 582-2377
swmuller@liberty.edu
 
Mrs. Patricia Campbell, B.A., M.M., D.M.A.(ABD)
Associate Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 582-2561
pcampbell@liberty.edu

Dr. Mindy Damon, B.M., M.M., Ed.S., Ed.D. 
Assistant Professor of Commercial Music,
Voice
(434) 582-7317
bmdamon@liberty.edu

Dr. Ruth Foley, B.A., B.Ed., M.A., M.M., D.M.A.
Associate Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 582-2216
rifoley@liberty.edu

Mrs. Linda Granger, B.A., M.M.
Associate Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 582-2217
lzgranger@liberty.edu

Dr. Mark Greenawalt, B.M., B.M.E., M.M., D.M.A.
Chair, Department of Applied Music
Associate Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 592-3867 
mgreenawalt@liberty.edu

Dr. David Hahn, B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Chair, Department of Commercial Music
Assistant Professor of Music and Worship,
Voice
(434) 592-5704
dmhahn@liberty.edu

Dr. John W. Hugo, B.M., M.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Chair, Department of Music
Professor of Music,
Voice and Conducting
(434) 582-2359
jwhugo@liberty.edu

Dr. Rick Jupin, B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Assistant Professor of Music and Worship,
Voice
(434) 582-2208
rmjupin@liberty.edu

Dr. Wayne Kompelien, B.M.E., M.M., D.M.A.
Professor of Music,
Voice
Director of Opera Workshop
(434) 582-2364
wbkompel@liberty.edu


Dr. Samantha Miller, M.M., D.M.A.
Assistant Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 592-4899
srmiller1@liberty.edu

 
Dr. Leon Neto, B.C.M., B.M.Ed., M.M., D.M.A.(abd)
Assistant Professor of Music,
Guitar and Voice
(434) 592-4683
lneto@liberty.edu

Mrs. Adelaide B Trombetta, B.M., M.M., AD.
Assistant Professor of Music,
Voice
Director of Opera Workshop
(434) 582-2365
amuir@liberty.edu

 


 

Woodwind Faculty

* Area Coordinator *
Dr. Cassandra Hibbard, B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Coordinator of Wind and Brass Studies
Assistant Professor of Music,
Clarinet
(434) 592-7730
chibbard@liberty.edu

Mrs. Alycia Hugo, B.M., M.M.
Assistant Professor of Music,
Flute
ahugo@liberty.edu



 
 

Commercial Music Faculty


Dr. David Hahn, B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Chair, Department of Commercial Music
Assistant Professor of Music and Worship,
Voice
(434) 592-5704
dmhahn@liberty.edu
 
Dr. Mindy Damon, B.M., M.M., Ed.S., Ed.D.
Associate Professor of Commercial Music,
Voice
(434) 582-7317
bmparrish@liberty.edu

Mr. Don Marsh, B.M., M.S.
Associate Professor of Music and Worship,
Songwriting
(434) 592-5706
dmarsh@liberty.edu

Mr. Edwin Parker, B.M., M.M.
Assistant Professor of Jazz Studies
(434) 592-6565
weparker@liberty.edu

Dr. David Schmal, B.S., B.A., M.A., M.A., D.M.A.
Associate Professor of Commercial Music
(434) 582-2219
dkschmal@liberty.edu

 


Conducting Faculty

Dr. Daniel Suttles, B.R.E., B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Associate Professor of Music,
Piano and Conducting
(434) 582-2307
dsuttles@liberty.edu

Dr. Stephen P. Kerr, B.S., M.A., Ph.D.
Chair, Department of University Bands
Professor of Music
Director of Bands
(434) 582-2363
spkerr@liberty.edu


Ethnomusicology Faculty


Dr. Katherine Morehouse, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Multi-Ethnic Music Studies
Associate Professor of Ethnomusicology
(434) 592-5931
khmorehouse@liberty.edu
 

Dr. John Benham, B.M., M.A., Ed.D.
Professor of Worship and Ethnomusicology
(434) 582-2219
jbenham@liberty.edu

Dr. George McDow, B.M.E., M.M.E., Ph.D.
LUO Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology 
ghmcdow@liberty.edu

Dr. Jeff Meyer, B.M., M.A., Ph.D.
LUO Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology 
jtmeyer@liberty.edu


Graduate Studies Faculty

Dr. Doug Crawley, B.M., M.C.M., D.M.A.
Associate Dean, Graduate Music Studies
Coordinator of Graduate Worship Studies
Assistant Professor of Worship 
(434) 592-7409
dcrawley3@liberty.edu

Dr. Sean Beavers, B.M., M.M., D.M.
Associate Dean, Center for Music and Performing Arts
Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 582-2289
sbeavers@liberty.edu

Dr. Michael Brennan, B.M., M.M., D.M.
Coordinator of Guitar Studies
Associate Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 592-4920
mbrennan@liberty.edu

Dr. Mark Greenawalt, B.M., B.M.E., M.M., D.M.A.
Chair, Department of Applied Music
Associate Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 592-3867 
mgreenawalt@liberty.edu

Dr. Rick Jupin, B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Assistant Professor of Music and Worship,
Voice
(434) 582-2208
rmjupin@liberty.edu

Dr. Paul Rumrill, B.A., M.M., D.M.A.
Chair, Department of Music Education
Associate Professor of Music Education
(434) 582-2218
prumrill@liberty.edu

Dr. Daniel Suttles, B.R.E., B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Associate Professor of Music,
Piano and Conducting
(434) 582-2307
dsuttles@liberty.edu

Dr. L. Lavon Gray, B.S., M.C.M., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Worship Studies
llgray2@liberty.edu

Dr. John Baker Thomas, B.M., M.M., Ed.D. 
Assistant Professor of Worship Studies 
jbthomas2@liberty.edu

Dr. Ron Upton, B.B.A., M.R.E., D.Min.
LUO Assistant Professor of Worship Studies 
rdupton@liberty.edu

Dr. Rodney Whaley, B.A., M.A., M.Div., D.Min.
LUO Assistant Professor of Worship Studies 
rdwhaley@liberty.ed

 


Music Education Faculty

Dr. Paul Rumrill, B.A., M.M., D.M.A.
Chair, Department of Music Education
Associate Professor of Music Education
(434) 582-2218
prumrill@liberty.edu

Dr. Stephen Muller, B.M., M.M., D.Min.
Coordinator of Vocal Studies
Assistant Professor of Music Education
(434) 582-2377
swmuller@liberty.edu

Dr. Kevin Chiarizzio, B.M., M.M., D.M.A.
Associate Professor of Music Education,
Brass
(434) 582-2512
kchiarizzio@liberty.edu

Dr. Kathryn Voelker, B.A., M.A., D.A.
Assistant Professor of Music Education,
Piano
(434) 582-2511
klvoelker@liberty.edu