STEM Education Initiative

American students are falling behind in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) compared to other industrialized nations. Large numbers of jobs in the United States are going unfilled due to the lack of qualified individuals in the STEM fields. Not only is our nation’s economic competitiveness at risk, but also our national security. Science and technology is an integral part of today’s military, and finding qualified citizens to work with highly classified technologies is becoming a vital need. The number of STEM graduates from our colleges and universities is at an all-time low. Recruiting students to pursue teacher licensure in areas of science, technology, engineering, and math education has become a high priority among educators. As a result, Liberty University’s School of Education is taking an active role by promoting STEM education.

Academic Information

Graduate Education Information

STEM Education Research Initiative--Graduate students are encouraged to team up with faculty members and pursue research related to science, technology, engineering, and math education. Please see list of chairs below for contact information.

Faculty Members with Research Interest in STEM Education

STEM Chairs

Research Interest

Joseph F. Fontanella, Jr. Ed.D
Adjunct Professor
School of Education
jffontanella@liberty.edu

Geospatial Information Systems

Vivian Jones, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor (LUO)
School of Education
vojones2@liberty.edu

Problem Solving

Mathematics Anxiety

 

Ralph Marino, Jr., Ed.D.
Assistant Professor (LUO)
School of Education
rmarino@liberty.edu

STEM Education

Kurt Y. Michael, Ph.D.
Associate Professor (Residential)
School of Education
kmichael9@liberty.edu

STEM Education

Science Fairs

Sharon Michael-Chadwell, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor (LUO)
School of Education
sdmichaelchadwell@liberty.edu

Minorities and STEM Programs

Nathan Putney, Ed.D.
Associate Professor (Residential)
Department of Mathematics
nputney@liberty.edu

Mathematics Education

Nancy Richardson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor (Residential)
Department of Biology & Chemistry
narichardson@liberty.edu

General Chemistry Instruction Science Classroom Safety

Jerry Westfall, Ph.D.
Associate Professor (Residential)
Department of Computing, Chair

School of Engineering and Computational Sciences

jwestfall@liberty.edu

STEM Education

Technical Education

 

STEM Committee Member

 

Jonathan Burton, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor
School of Education (LUO)
jburton@liberty.edu

STEM education

Sally Childs, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor
School of Education (LUO)
shchilds@liberty.edu

STEM education

Fred Conner, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor
School of Education (LUO)
fpconner@liberty.edu

STEM education

 

Nancy DeJarnette, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor
School of Education (LUO)
nkdejarnette@liberty.edu

STEM education

 

Michael Preuss, Ed.D.
Adjunct Professor
School of Education (LUO)
mdpreuss@liberty.edu

STEM education

Mathematics education

 


Web Links

Notice for Contributing STEM Information

If you would like to contribute STEM information for this website, please contact Dr. L. Daniele Bradshaw at ldbradshaw3@liberty.edu.