Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

White Named to Big South First Team, Three Others Selected to Second

November 5, 2012  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Defender Greg White was named to the 2012 Big South All-Conference first team.

Defender Greg White was named to the 2012 Big South All-Conference first team.

Liberty defender Greg White has been named to the 2012 Big South men's soccer all-conference first team, the league announced this evening.  Three other Flames were selected to the all-conference second team.

Selected by the conference's head coaches, White garnered his first career all-conference honor, while forward Kyle Breitmeyer, defender Uriah Bentick and midfielder Richard Nyarko received second team recognition.

In addition, Bentick was also named by the conference's sports information directors to the Big South men's soccer All-Academic team. Liberty freshman defender Tim Harbison was selected to the Big South All-Freshman team.

A two-time Liberty team captain, White was named to the all-conference team for the first time.  The redshirt senior has played every minute during the 2012 season for the Flames.  He has scored two goals, while anchoring the Flames' defensive unit, which has played a key role in Liberty's nine-game unbeaten streak (6-0-3).

White has started every game of his Flames career.  He enters Liberty's Big South Quarterfinal match, Tuesday, having started 75 consecutive games. In 2009 and 2011, White was named to the Big South All-Tournament team.

Breitmeyer, Liberty's leading scorer, was selected to his first all-conference team.  The junior is enjoying his best offensive season as a Flame, leading Liberty with seven goals and 15 points.  Five of his goals have come during Big South play.

Bentick was named to the all-conference squad for the third consecutive year.  The senior was selected to the first team in 2010 and 2011. The defender has been a fixture on a Liberty defensive unit, which has played a key role in Liberty's unbeaten streak. He has scored one goal and recorded a team-leading three assists this season.  In addition, the sport management major earned inclusion on the Big South All-Academic squad.

Nyarko caps his senior year by being voted to an all-conference team for the first time. A reliable defender, he has returned from injury to play in 10 games, with three starts.

Harbison has recorded three assists in his first collegiate season.  The freshman has started all 17 games as defender/midfielder for the Flames.

Coastal Carolina forward Ashton Bennett was named the 2012 Big South Conference Men's Soccer Attacking Player of the Year, while his head coach, Shaun Docking, was selected as the Big South Coach of the Year. Coastal Carolina's Kjartan Sigurdsson was voted the league's Defensive Player of the Year, while High Point's goalkeeper Kody Palmer was named the conference Freshman of the Year. Shawn Sloan was named Big South Conference Men's Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Bennett, Docking and Sloan each repeated their honors from 2011.

The 2012 Big South Championship gets underway tomorrow night on the campuses on the higher seeds.  Defending champion Liberty, the No. 3 seed, will host No. 6 Winthrop at Osborne Stadium.  Match time is scheduled for 6 p.m.

First Team All-Conference
F – Ashton Bennett, Coastal Carolina
F – Ricky Garbanzo, Coastal Carolina
F – Mamadee Nypon, High Point
MF – Pedro Ribero, Coastal Carolina
MF – Mitchell Cardenas, Campbell
MF – Shawn Sloan, High Point
MF – Justin Portillo, Coastal Carolina
D – Fejiro Okiomah, High Point
D - Kjartan Sigurdsson, Coastal Carolina
D – Greg White, Liberty
D – Travis Golden, Campbell
GK – Ryan Taylor, Radford
At Large – Bernardo Ulmo, Radford, MF

Second Team All-Conference
F – Jhuvon Francis, Campbell
F – Kyle Breitmeyer, Liberty
F – Alex Isern, Winthrop
MF – Dario Redondo, Radford
MF – Adam Sewell, High Point
MF – Shane Malcolm, High Point
MF – Richard Nyarko, Liberty
D – Uriah Bentick, Liberty
D – Henrik Robstad, Coastal Carolina
D – Jon Ole Reinhardsen, Gardner-Webb
D – Uchenna Uzo, Coastal Carolina
GK – Ethan Hall, Campbell
At Large – Federico Bertele, Coastal Carolina, GK

All-Freshman Team
Jhamie Hyde, Coastal Carolina - D
Jamie Summers, Radford - D
Kody Palmer, High Point - GK
Isaiah Page, Campbell - MF
Tim Harbison, Liberty - D
Austin Yearwood, High Point - D
Magnus Thorsson, Winthrop - MF
Jannik Eckenrode, Radford – MF/F
Tevin Skyers, Coastal Carolina - F
Lyssean Thomas, Gardner-Webb - MF
Matt Manter, Presbyterian College - F

Attacking Player of the Year
Ashton Bennett, Coastal Carolina

Freshman of the Year
Kody Palmer, High Point

Defensive Player of the Year
Kjartan Sigurdsson, Coatsal Carolina

Coach of the Year
Shaun Docking, Coastal Carolina

Shawn Sloan, High Point
Ryan Taylor, Radford
Alex Isern, Winthrop
Matthew "Scooter" Oliver, Campbell
Bobby Castro, UNC Asheville
Newt Turk, Presbyterian College
Henrick Robstad, Coastal Carolina
Chris Davis, Gardner-Webb
Uriah Bentick, Liberty
Devin Pierce, Longwood
Kyle Farmer, VMI

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Shawn Sloan, High Point