Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

Wheelock Selected Women's Soccer Players' Player of the Year

January 11, 2007  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Mandee Wheelock

Mandee Wheelock

At the recent Liberty University women's soccer end of season banquet, senior forward Mandee Wheelock was chosen by her peers as this season's Players' Player of the Year. 

"Mandee was a terrific leader for our team this season. She is the type of player who covers every blade of grass, game after game, and on many occasions provides the spark needed to score," commented head coach James Price. "I am delighted her teammates have acknowledged her contribution, and she joins a list of worthy winners of this award." 

The Flames' captain picked up the prestigious award after a tremendous senior season which saw her record a team-leading five goals and three assists. The midfielder capped her final season by being named to her third Big South All-Conference first team and selected as the Big South Women's Soccer Co-Scholar Athlete of the Year. 

Past winners of the Players' Player of the Year award are Shannon Hutchinson (1997), Christina Popoff (1998), Nancy Davis (1999), Breanna Jacinto (2000), Emily Shubin (2001), Sarah Gantner (2002), Rachel Lyndon (2003), Megan Fatkin (2004) and Sonia Rodriguez (2005).