Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

Big South Announces Title Sponsor, Format for Basketball Tourneys

June 7, 2012  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Flames guard John Caleb Sanders and Lady Flames guard Devon Brown

Flames guard John Caleb Sanders and Lady Flames guard Devon Brown

Big South Conference Commissioner Kyle B. Kallander announced today that will be the new title sponsor of the Big South men's and women's basketball tournament championships for the next three years, which will be held at Coastal Carolina University's new 3,200-seat on-campus Student Recreation and Convocation Center.

The Big South Basketball Championships will be a combined tournament for the seventh time overall in league history and the first same site event since 2002 when the Conference staged its basketball postseason in Roanoke, Va. Coastal Carolina is hosting the full tournament for the first time, as Chanticleers previously held the men's semifinals and finals in 2010 and 2011. 

In addition to the title sponsorship, the Conference also announced that the combined tournament will now feature all Big South men's and women's basketball teams -- 23 in total.  The 12 men's teams and 11 women's programs will play 21 games over a six-day stretch from Tuesday-Sunday, March 5-10, 2013. Specific television arrangements will be announced in the future.

Ticket prices, packages and sale dates for the 2013 Big South Basketball Championships will be announced once details are finalized. and Coastal Carolina are also planning a Fan Fest, "Battle of the Bands" competition and free alumni golf outings as part of the tournament festivities.

The Big South Conference is returning to a same site, combined tournament format for the first time since 2002.  For six-straight years from 1997-2002, the Big South held its men's and women's basketball championships at one location -- Lynchburg, Va. (1997-98), Asheville, N.C. (1999-00) and Roanoke, Va. (2001-02).

2013 Big South Basketball Championships Schedule (subject to change)
Tuesday, March 5 – Men's first round games (4)
Wednesday, March 6 – Women's first round games (3)
Thursday, March 7 – Men's quarterfinal games (4)
Friday, March 8 – Women's quarterfinal games (4)
Saturday, March 9 – Men's semifinals (2) and Women's semifinals (2)
Sunday, March 10 – Men's finals and Women's finals