Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

3 Lady Flames Earn Big South Softball Honors

May 9, 2012  Radford, Va.  RSS
|   Share
(From left): Katie Zavodny, Meredith Crisante and Sammi Shivock earned postseason Big South softball postseason honors.

(From left): Katie Zavodny, Meredith Crisante and Sammi Shivock earned postseason Big South softball postseason honors.

One day prior to the 2012 Big South Softball Championship, three Liberty Lady Flames earned postseason conference honors, awarded at the conference banquet on the campus of Radford University.

Senior outfielder Meredith Crisante was named to the Big South All-Conference first team, while sophomore outfielder Katie Zavodny was listed on the second team. Sophomore shortstop Sammi Shivock was voted to the Big South All-Academic Team.

Crisante receives all-conference honors for the second time in her career, as she was previously named to the 2010 Big South All-Conference second team. Last season, the Huntington, W.Va., native made the Big South All-Tournament Team and VaSID All-State second team.

This year, Crisante has batted .300 while leading the Lady Flames with nine home runs, 15 stolen bases and a .519 slugging percentage. During conference play, she led the league with six home runs and 44 total bases. She was tabbed Big South Player of the Week on Feb. 27.

Zavodny, a Concord, N.C., product, earns her first all-conference award, after providing a spark to the Lady Flames' offense before sustaining a season-ending injury midway through conference play. She leads the team with a .351 batting average, .370 on-base percentage and is second with 12 stolen bases.  Her biggest impact came during conference play, where she hit .417 and scored eight runs in 10 Big South games.

Shivock, a sophomore exercise science major, holds a 3.6 GPA and has been a leading contributor to the Lady Flames' offense this season. The New Castle, Del., native, leads the team with 31 runs, 31 RBIs and 109 assists and is second in three additional categories. During conference play, she hit .367 with 13 runs scored and 16 RBIs.

One year after sharing Big South Player of the Year honors with Liberty's Kelly Strickland, senior Nichole Beall of Radford wins the conference player of the year outright in 2012. Radford junior Jackie Jenkins was named Big South Pitcher of the Year for the second season in a row, while Radford coach Mickey Dean garnered his fourth straight coach of the year award. 

Stephanie Jones of Campbell and Kory Hayden of Coastal Carolina were tabbed co-freshmen of the year. Gardner-Webb's Jane Savage was named Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The 2012 Big South Softball Championship begins tomorrow at 9 a.m., as No. 4 seed Campbell and No. 5 seed Gardner-Webb meet in game one. The No. 6 seed Lady Flames face No. 3 seed Charleston Southern in the third game of the day, scheduled to begin at 2 p.m. at RU Softball Field.

2012 Big South Conference Softball Award Winners

First-Team All-Conference
OF: Meredith Crisante, Liberty

OF: Stephanie Jones, Campbell
OF: Hannah Ojeda, Radford
1B:  Morgan Baker, Gardner-Webb
2B:  Samantha Meenaghan, Gardner-Webb
SS:  Nichole Beall, Radford
3B:  Kory Hayden, Coastal Carolina
C: Taylor McGee, Campbell
DP: Chelsey Schoenfeldt, Winthrop
UT: Sarah Maples, Coastal Carolina
P: Jackie Jenkins, Radford
P: Kiana Quolas, Coastal Carolina

Second Team All-Conference
OF: Jana Matthews, Charleston Southern
OF: Katie Zavodny, Liberty
OF: Sarah Forgacs, Campbell
OF: Tera Powell, Presbyterian College
1B: Jessie Hutchens, Radford
2B: Jackie Warr, Radford
SS: Ericka Nesbitt, Campbell
3B: Vicki Madden, Radford
C: McKenzie Morenus, Gardner-Webb
DP: Raven Lee, Campbell
UT: Amanda Gomes, Gardner-Webb
P: Cindy Boomhower, Gardner-Webb
P: Morgan Dowdy, Charleston Southern

All-Academic Team
Taylor McGee, Campbell
Kristin Kelleher, Charleston Southern
Sarah Maples, Coastal Carolina
Jane Savage, Gardner-Webb
Sammi Shivock, Liberty
Morgan Durham, Presbyterian College
Ryndee Ruch, Radford
Chelsey Schoenfeldt, Winthrop

Player of the Year
Nichole Beall, Radford

Pitcher of the Year
Jackie Jenkins, Radford

Co-Freshman of the Year
Stephanie Jones, Campbell
Kory Hayden, Coastal Carolina

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jane Savage, Gardner-Webb

Coach of the Year
Mickey Dean, Radford