Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

Three Flames Named to All-Big South First Team

November 9, 2011  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Uriah Bentick, Phillip Aseweh and Darren Amoo were named to the Big South All-Conference first team.

Uriah Bentick, Phillip Aseweh and Darren Amoo were named to the Big South All-Conference first team.

Liberty midfielder Phillip Aseweh, forward Darren Amoo and defender Uriah Bentick have been named to the 2011 Big South men's soccer all-conference first team, the league announced this evening.

Selected by the conference's head coaches, Amoo garnered his third all-conference first team honor, while Aseweh and Bentick were selected to the squad for the second consecutive season.  In addition, Aseweh was named by the conference's sports information directors to the Big South men's soccer All-Academic team.

Liberty freshman goalkeepers Josh Pacella and Scott Sutarik were named to the Big South All-Freshman team.

Amoo becomes the fourth player in program history to be named to the Big South all-conference team three times. The forward joins Ben Strawbridge (1999-01), current Liberty assistant men's soccer coach Dean Short (1999-01) and Osei Telesford (2003, 2005-06).

Amoo, a redshirt junior, enters this week's Big South Men's Soccer Championship with 11 points, scoring five goals and adding an assist in 14 games.  The Accra, Ghana native is currently third on Liberty's all-time goals list with 35 and fourth on its points list with 79.

Aseweh leads the Flames in points, goals and assists this season. The senior has scored six goals and added eight assists to post 20 points, so far in 2011.  He is tied for the conference lead in assists and is fifth in points.

Earlier this season, Aseweh was named the Disney Soccer/NSCAA National Player of the Week and Big South Attacking Player of the Week, while earning selection to the SoccerAmerica Team of the Week for Sept. 21. During the prior week, the midfielder scored three goals and recorded an assist, as Liberty defeated No. 10 Virginia, 2-0, and Howard, 4-0.

In addition, Aseweh was selected to the 2011 Big South men's soccer All-Academic team. The Navrongo, Ghana native was named this season to the CoSIDA District III All-Academic team for his work in the classroom as well as on the field. 

Bentick is having his best offensive year as a Flame, compiling 12 points with four g64oals and four assists entering the Big South Men's Soccer Championship. His point total is a career-high for the defender. The junior has posted a point in three consecutive games on two different occasions this season.

Bentick was named Big South Defensive Player of the Week for Sept. 21 and is a member of Liberty defensive unit which has allowed 1.06 goals per game and recorded a Big South-leading seven shutouts.

Pacella and Sutarik have split time in the Liberty goal this season.  The two freshmen have helped the Flames post a conference-leading seven shutouts. Pacella has recorded a 1.34 goals average in 10 games this season, while Sutarik has a 0.64 goals against average.

Coastal Carolina forward Ashton Bennett was named the 2011 Big South Conference Men's Soccer Attacking Player of the Year, while his head coach, Shaun Docking, was selected as the Big South Coach of the Year. Coastal Carolina's Kjartan Sigurdsson was voted the league's Freshman of the Year, while his teammate, Cyprian Hedrick, was named Defensive Player of the Year. High Point's Shawn Sloan was named Big South Conference Men's Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The 2011 Big South Championship gets underway at Greene-Harbison Stadium in Boiling Springs, N.C., Thursday, with four quarterfinals games scheduled for the day. Liberty, the No. 4 seed, will square off against Radford, the No. 5 seed, in the opening contest of the day. Match time is set for Noon.

First Team All-Conference

F – Ashton Bennett, Coastal Carolina
F – Darren Amoo, Liberty
F – Iyiola Awosika, Radford
MF – Mitchell Cardenas, Campbell
MF – Luis Faz, Coastal Carolina
MF – Shawn Sloan, High Point
MF – Phillip Aseweh, Liberty
D – Cyprian Hedrick, Coastal Carolina
D - Pedro Ribeiro, Coastal Carolina
D – Jon Ole Reinhardsen, Gardner-Webb
D – Uriah Bentick, Liberty
GK – Scott Angevine, Coastal Carolina
Tied At Large – Kjartan Sigurdsson, Coastal Carolina
Tied At Large - Justin Portillo, Coastal Carolina

Second Team All-Conference
F – Chris Davis, Gardner-Webb
F – Karo Okiomah, High Point
F – Bryan Bartels, UNC Asheville
MF – Justin Franz, Campbell
MF – John Sargent, Gardner-Webb
MF – Adam Sewell, High Point
MF – Luis Grande, Radford
D – Travis Golden, Campbell
D – Jovan Ivanovich, Gardner-Webb
D – Fejiro Okiomah, High Point
D – Alex Isern, Winthrop
GK – Lassi Hurskainen, UNC Asheville
At Large – Aldo Macias, Radford

All-Freshman Team
Ricky Garbanzo, Coastal Carolina
Henrick Robstad, Coastal Carolina
Kjartan Sigurdsson, Coastal Carolina
Denzel Clark, Gardner-Webb
Eric Yeager, Gardner-Webb
Josh Pacella, Liberty
Scott Sutarik, Liberty

Jonathan Ray, Campbell
Jhuvon Francis, Campbell
Dario Redondo, Radford
Melo Matutu, Winthrop
Grady Tremble, Winthrop

Attacking Player of the Year
Ashton Bennett, F, Coastal Carolina

Freshman of the Year
Kjartan Sigurdsson, D, Coastal Carolina

Defensive Player of the Year
Cyprian Hedrick, D, Coastal Carolina

Coach of the Year
Shaun Docking, Coastal Carolina

Shawn Sloan, High Point
Matt Horn, Winthrop
Bobby Keskey, Presbyterian College
Ryan Taylor, Radford
Phillip Aseweh, Liberty
J.J. Morrow, UNC Asheville
Cyprian Hedrick, Coastal Carolina
Ethan Hall, Campbell
Kyle Farmer, VMI
Chris Davis, Gardner-Webb

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Shawn Sloan, High Point