Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Telesford Named to 2006 Big South Men's Soccer All-Conference First Team

November 1, 2006  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Osei Telesford was named all-conference first team.

Osei Telesford was named all-conference first team.

Liberty Flames defender Osei Telesford was named to the 2006 Big South Men's Soccer All-Conference first team, the league announced Wednesday evening. The announcement was made at the conference's annual men's soccer awards banquet, held at Muse Hall on the campus of Radford University in Radford, Va.

In addition to Telesford, Liberty forward Darryl Roberts and midfielder Joshua Boateng were selected to the all-conference second team. Midfielder Juan Guzman was named to the conference's all-freshman team and goalkeeper Kevin Mahan shared the men's soccer Co-Scholar Athlete of the Year award and was named to the all-academic team.

Telesford (Sr., San Juan, Trindad) has now been named to the Big South All-Conference first team three times (2003, 2005 and 2006) and in 2004 received a second-team selection. The team captain has been an integral part of the Liberty defense that has recorded four shutouts and has a 1.67 goals-against-average this season.

Roberts (R-Sr., Trincity, Trinidad) was named to his fourth all-conference team as the forward was named to the all-conference second team in both 2003 and 2004 and first team in 2002. Earlier this season, he became Liberty's all-time career scoring leader with 93 points and is currently tied atop the school's all-time goal list with 36 career goals. Limited by injury, Roberts has tallied four goals and assisted on two others in eight games in 2006.

Boateng (So., Accra, Ghana) receives his first selection to a Big South Conference All-Conference team by being named to the all-conference second team. In his first season with the Flames, Boateng has two goals and two assists in 10 games.

Guzman (Fr., Charlotte, N.C.) was named to the conference's all-freshman team. He has started every contest in his first season with the Flames, scoring two goals and adding two assists.

Mahan (Sr., Waterford, Mich.) becomes the first Liberty men's soccer player to be selected as the Big South's Scholar Athlete of the Year, sharing this year's honor with VMI's Michael Lloyd. The senior goalkeeper has been a three-year starter for the Flames and two-time team captain. Last May, he graduated summa cum laude in communications studies and was a member of the dean's list all of his eight undergraduate semesters at Liberty.

Winthrop forward Saidi Isaac and head coach Rich Posipanko were awarded the 2006 Big South Men's Soccer Player of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively.

Winthrop midfielder Stephen Nsereko was voted Freshman of the Year.

The awards banquet serves as the kickoff for the 2006 Men's Soccer Championship. The first round begins tomorrow in Radford, Va., with four games scheduled throughout the day at the Patrick D. Cupp Memorial Stadium. The semifinals will be played Friday beginning at 4 p.m., with the title match slated for Sunday at 1 p.m.

Liberty, the #4 seed, takes on #5 seed Birmingham-Southern in the first contest of the day tomorrow at Noon.

2006 Big South Conference Men's Soccer Award Winners

All-Conference First Team
Saidi Isaac, Winthrop
Gino Cozzolino, Birmingham-Southern
Daniel Revivo, Winthrop
Chris Archer, High Point

Mkheli Dube, Coastal Carolina
David Kenga, Winthrop
Otto Loewy, Winthrop
Franklin Elimbi, Radford

Osei Telesford, Liberty
Taylor Rowe, Radford
Henry Kalungi, Winthrop
John Gilkerson, Winthrop

Patrick Mitrovich, Winthrop

All-Conference Second Team
Darryl Roberts, Liberty
Barrett Locke, UNC Asheville
Luke Ibbetson, Coastal Carolina
Charles Nweke, VMI

Stefan Haben, Birmingham-Southern
Josh Windley, High Point
Joshua Boateng, Liberty
Hilaire Babou, High Point

Doug Eckhardt, Birmingham-Southern
Pat Robertson, Coastal Carolina
Edwin Wotortsi, UNC Asheville
Paul Caruso, Radford

Zach Roszel, Radford

All Freshman
Stephen Nesereko, Winthrop
Juan Guzman, Liberty
Stefan Haben, Birmingham-Southern
Hilaire Babou, High Point
Matthew Skonicki, Winthrop
Daryn Patricio, Radford
Justin Zimmer, Radford
Jack Belanger, Coastal Carolina
Tony Nweke, VMI
Ryan Puppolo, High Point
Norman Baer, Birmingham-Southern
Konnor McGee, Coastal Carolina

All-Academic Team
Gino Cozzolino, Birmingham-Southern
Kevin Van Den Berg, Coastal Carolina
Cole Atkins, High Point
Kevin Mahan, Liberty
Paul Caruso, Radford
David Verga, UNC Asheville
Michael Lloyd, VMI
Will Nova, Winthrop

Player of the Year
Saidi Isaac, Winthrop

Freshman of the Year
Stephen Nsereko, Winthrop

Coach of the Year
Rich Posipanko, Winthrop

Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Kevin Mahan, Liberty
Michael Lloyd, VMI