Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

Football Announces Spring Practice Schedule

February 18, 2011  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Ron Hobby (13) and Ervin Garner (2) square off against each other in the 2010 spring football game.

Ron Hobby (13) and Ervin Garner (2) square off against each other in the 2010 spring football game.

Liberty Head Football Coach Danny Rocco has announced his team's practice schedule for the 2011 spring season, a string of 15 practice dates during a four-week period that will culminate with the program's annual spring football game.

The Flames will return to the turf for the first time as a team since their Nov. 20 Big South title-clinching victory over Stony Brook with their first spring practice on March 24. The two-plus hour practice session will begin at 7:30 p.m., inside of Williams Stadium.

During the four-week period, the Flames will be "On the Line" each Tuesday and Thursday evening, starting at 7:30 p.m., Friday afternoons beginning at 4:15 p.m., and Saturday mornings at 10:30 a.m.

The only exception to this standard time regiment will be on April 16 when the Flames host their annual spring football game. Kickoff for the intra-squad scrimmage is slated for 1 p.m.

During the two-hour workout, Liberty's offensive and defensive units square off in a uniquely scored event. Additionally, the football program announces its 2011 team captains and spring practice award winners (Luke 2:52 Award and Samkon Gado Award).

Because of the continuing work on Liberty's practice football field adjacent to the Williams Football Operations Center, all of this year's spring practice sessions will be held on the turf at Williams Stadium.

Below is a full schedule (start times and dates) for this year's spring practices:

Practice No. 1 – March 24 (Thursday) – 7:30 p.m.
Practice No. 2 – March 25 (Friday) – 4:15 p.m.
Practice No. 3 – March 26 (Saturday) – 10:30 a.m.
Practice No. 4 – March 29 (Tuesday) – 7:30 p.m.
Practice No. 5 – March 31 (Thursday) – 7:30 p.m.
Practice No. 6 – April 1 (Friday) – 4:15 p.m.
Practice No. 7 – April 2 (Saturday) – 10:30 a.m.
Practice No. 8 – April 5 (Tuesday) – 7:30 p.m.
Practice No. 9 – April 7 (Thursday) – 7:30 p.m.
Practice No. 10 – April 8 (Friday) – 4:15 p.m.
Practice No. 11 – April 9 (Saturday) – 10:30 a.m.
Practice No. 12 – April 12 (Tuesday) – 7:30 p.m.
Practice No. 13 – April 14 (Thursday) – 7:30 p.m.
Practice No. 14 – April 15 (Friday) – 4:15 p.m.
Practice No. 15 – April 16 (Saturday) – 1 p.m. (Annual Spring Game)

LibertyFlames.com, the official web site of Liberty Athletics, will be providing in-depth coverage of the football program's spring practices with practice reports, audio interviews and video highlights. More details will follow closer to the start of spring practice on March 24.