Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Three Flames Named to All-Conference First Team

November 10, 2010  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Forward Darren Amoo was one of three Liberty men's soccer players selected to the 2010 Big South all-conference first team.

Forward Darren Amoo was one of three Liberty men's soccer players selected to the 2010 Big South all-conference first team.

Liberty forward Darren Amoo, midfielder Phillip Aseweh and defender Uriah Bentick have been named to the 2010 Big South All-Conference first team, the league announced this afternoon.

Selected by the conference's head coaches, Amoo was chosen to his second consecutive All-Big South team, while Aseweh and Bentick were selected to the squad for the first time. In addition, Aseweh was named by the conference's Sports Information Directors to the Big South men's soccer all-academic team.

Amoo, who was an All-Big South first team member in 2009, is currently tied for the Big South scoring lead with 25 points. On the season, the redshirt sophomore has scored 11 goals and recorded three assists. His goal total ties him for the conference lead in the category.

The Accra, Ghana native is among the national leaders in several categories, ranking ninth in the nation with a 0.73 goals per game and 12th nationally in points per game, with a 1.67 points per contest average. In addition, Amoo has moved into seventh place on the Liberty career goals list with 29. He is one goal shy of tying Marshall Worthington (1983-86) and Craig Bell (1979-81) for sixth all-time. He also has moved into the Liberty top 10 in points with 66 career points, tying him with Bell and Worthington for ninth on the points list.

Aseweh is second on the Flames in scoring with 15 points. The junior has scored four goals, while recording seven assists on the year. The midfielder is tied for second in the Big South with his career high assists total. He is one of five Liberty players to start every game this year.

In addition, Aseweh was selected to the 2010 Big South men's soccer all-academic team. The Navrongo, Ghana native was named this season to the CoSIDA District III all-academic team for his work in the classroom as well as on the field.

Bentick rounds out the trio of Flames. The defender earned his first selection to the all-conference team, with seven points on three goals and one assist. The sophomore's three goals were the first of his career.
The Port of Spain, Trinidad native is one of five Flames to start all 17 contests this season. He has helped Liberty post seven shutouts and a 0.87 goals-against average.

High Point forward Karo Okiomah was named the 2010 Big South Conference Men's Soccer Player of the Year, while his head coach, Dustin Fonder, was selected as the Big South Coach of the Year for the second-straight year. High Point's Adam Sewell was voted the league's Freshman of the Year and Winthrop's Matt Horn was named Big South Conference Men's Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The 2010 Big South Championship gets underway at Vert Stadium in High Point, N.C., Thursday, with the first of four games scheduled for the day set to begin at Noon. Liberty, the No. 4 seed, will square off against Radford, the No. 5 seed, in the third contest of the day at 5 p.m.


Player of the Year

Karo Okiomah, High Point

Freshman of the Year
Adam Sewell, High Point

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Matt Horn, Winthrop

Coach of the Year
Dustin Fonder, High Point

First Team All-Big South

Karo Okiomah, High Point
Darren Amoo, Liberty
Iyiola Awosika, Radford

Ross Kelly, Coastal Carolina
Fejiro Okiomah, High Point
Phillip Aseweh, Liberty
Shawn Sloan, High Point

Alex Russell, Coastal Carolina
Jon Ole Reinhardsen, Gardner-Webb
Uriah Bentick, Liberty
James Leith, Radford

Michael Chesler, High Point

Scott Rojo, F, High Point

Second Team All-Big South

Nicholas Wrobel, Gardner-Webb
Amir Shihata, VMI
Miquel Casajuanna, Winthrop

Juan Portillo, Coastal Carolina
Romeo Kabanda, Gardner-Webb
Brian Harding, VMI
Matt Stinson, Winthrop

Ryan Bennett, High Point
Todd Ray, High Point
Will Stewart, High Point
Ayao Sossou, VMI

Lassi Hurskainen, UNC Asheville

Scott Angevine, GK, Coastal Carolina

All-Freshman Team
Pedro Ribeiro, F, Coastal Carolina
Justin Portillo, MF, Coastal Carolina
Nicolas Wrobel, F, Gardner-Webb
Chris Davis, F, Gardner-Webb
Adam Sewell, MF, High Point
Alex Martinez, MF, High Point
Harrison Russell, MF, Presbyterian College
Bernardo Ulmo, MF, Radford
Luis Grande, MF, Radford
Kenneth Lingerfelt, F, UNC Asheville
Matt Stinson, MF, Winthrop
Tinotendo Chibharo, MF, Winthrop

Matt Horn, Winthrop
Phillip Aseweh, Liberty
Adam Hatem, High Point
Jake Sides, UNC Asheville
Romeo Kabanda, Gardner-Webb
Alex Russell, Coastal Carolina
Logan Huff, Presbyterian College
Anthony Payne, Radford
Sonny Landry, VMI