Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Bevins Honored Twice Prior to Season's Start

August 7, 2010  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Matt Bevins has been named to the Sports Network Preseason All-America team and to the Fred Mitchell Award watch list.

Matt Bevins has been named to the Sports Network Preseason All-America team and to the Fred Mitchell Award watch list.

2010 Sports Network Preseason All-America Team

2010 Fred Mitchell Award Watch List

Following the 2009 campaign where he was the nation's No. 1 field goal kicker, Matt Bevins has drawn two prestigious preseason honors. The junior has been named to the Sports Network Preseason All-America first-team squad and to the 2010 Fred Mitchell Award watch list.

Bevins (Newport News, Va.) had a breakout season in 2009, as he set a new program and Big South Conference record by scoring 107 points. He finished the year ranked No. 3 in the country in scoring per game (9.73 points per game) and was the nation's top-scoring kicker.

He also finished No. 1 in the nation in field goals (2.00 field goals per game), as he sent a school and conference-record 22 field goals through the uprights (22-of-26). He also finished the year 41-of-42 on point after attempts, with his lone miss being blocked.

Bevins was a consensus All-America selection following the 2009 season, garnering first-team honors from the Sports Network, Walter Camp Foundation and the Associated Press.

Bevins was one of four Big South players named to the Sports Network's preseason All-America listing, and the only first-team selection.

Also joining him on the list was second-team honoree Corey O'Daniel, an offensive guard from Gardner-Webb. Rounding out the four league honorees were third-team All-America selections Josh Norman, cornerback from Coastal Carolina and Marty Patterson, a linebacker from Gardner-Webb and the 2010 Big South Preseason Defensive Player of the Year.

Bevins is the first Flame to be named to the Sports Network Preseason All-America team since running back Rashad Jennings received the same honor in 2008.

Bevins' inclusion on the Fred Mitchell Award watch list is a first in program history. The award annually honors the top kicker from programs who play collegiate football at the FCS, Division II, Division III and NAIA levels. A total of 40 honorees were named to the preseason watch list, including 15 place kickers at the FCS level.

The award encompasses more than just on-field accomplishments, as it also takes into consideration a student-athlete's local community environment. The annual award winner is announced in December and honored at the National Football Foundation Chicago Metro Chapter Awards Ceremony at Halas Hall in February.

Bevins has excelled in multiple areas off the field of play. Besides being the nation's top kicker in 2009, Bevins was also honored for his efforts in the classroom. He was named to ESPN The Magazine's CoSIDA Academic All-District team for his work as a sport management major.

In the local community, Bevins has been active as a volunteer with Liberty's Campus Serve and Grid-Iron Ministry programs, while participating in youth league football games both in Lynchburg and his hometown of Newport News.

2010 Fred Mitchell Award Watch List

Matt Alksninis - Curry College (Massachusetts) – Division III
C.J. Bahr - Slippery Rock (Pennsylvania) – Division II
Matt Bevins - Liberty (Virginia) – FCS
Stephen Blose - Youngstown State (Ohio) - FCS
Blake Bostic - Western Carolina (North Carolina) – FCS
Craig Burgess - Indiana University of Pennsylvania – Division II
Tyler Cannon - Eastern New Mexico– Division II
Garrett Clawson - Robert Morris (Pennsylvania) – FCS
Gordon Craig - Dickinson College (Pennsylvania) – Division III
Kienan Cullen - Murray State (Kentucky) - FCS
Jackson Damron - California-Lutheran– Division III
Eric Dobratz - Shepherd (West Virginia) – Division II
Kyle Dougherty - Southern Illinois – FCS
Jacob Gahart - Ripon College (Wisconsin) – Division III
C.J. Gradoville - Morningside College (Iowa) - NAIA
Billy Hallgren - University of Northern Iowa – FCS
Josh Lewis - McNeese State (Louisiana) – FCS
Tom Lynch - Saint Xavier (Illinois) - NAIA
Tyler Mosko - Methodist (North Carolina) – Division III
Matt Myers - Northern Arizona - FCS
Peter Nilson - Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (New York) – Division III
Tyler Padgett - Central Methodist (Missouri) – NAIA
John Paglia - Charleston Southern (South Carolina) - FCS
Thomas Parrott - Northern State (South Dakota) – Division II
Davis Rodriguez - Lafayette College (Pennsylvania) – FCS
Andrew Rogowski - Ithaca College (New York) – Division III
Gareth Rowlands - Tusculum College (Tennessee) – Division II
Taylor Russolino - Millsaps College (Mississippi) – Division III
Andrew Samson - Pennsylvania – FCS
Foley Schmidt - Dartmouth College (New Hampshire) - FCS
Nick Schneider - Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (Indiana) – Division III
Wesley Skiffington - Stony Brook (New York) - FCS
Andy Smith - South Dakota School of Mines and Technology – NAIA
David Van Voris - Adams State College (Colorado) – Division II
John Whelan - Albright College (Pennsylvania) – Division III
Braden Wieking - University of Sioux Falls (South Dakota) – NAIA
Adam Willets - Campbell (North Carolina) - FCS
Dan Winsey - Concordia (Wisconsin) – Division III
Ryan Zipf - Allegheny College (Pennsylvania) – Division III
Greg Zuerlein - University of Nebraska at Omaha (Nebraska) – Division II

More About the Fred Mitchell Award
The annual Fred Mitchell Outstanding Place Kicker Award (also known as the Fred Mitchell Award, is provided to the nation's top collegiate place kicker among more than 600 FCS, Division II, III and NAIA football teams. The Award is named for Fred Mitchell, the record-setting place kicker, Wittenberg University Athletic Hall of Famer, author, philanthropist and Chicago Tribune sports columnist. The recipient of the Fred Mitchell Award will be chosen based on excellence on the football field and in the community. The Award's Watch List is released in August, top performers are recognized monthly during the college football season, and the winner (who is not required to be on the watch list) is announced in mid-December. The school of the award winner receives scholarship funds and the Fred Mitchell Award trophy will be presented in February at the National Football Foundation Chicago Metro Chapter Awards Ceremony at Halas Hall.

A blue-ribbon selection committee (listed at evaluates place kickers who are nominated by their schools. There are nine members of the Pro and/or College Football Hall of Fame on the selection committee including Tom Beck, George Blanda, Kevin Butler, Lou Holtz, Paul Hornung, Marv Levy, Steve McMichael, Don Pierson and Gale Sayers. Several former football players who are active in their communities are also on the selection committee including Carl Allegretti, Sean Gothier, Dan Jiggetts, Jeff Michalczyk, Mark Murphy, Rob Perry, Jeff Schebler, Bob Thomas, Todd Wilkins, Gary Zauner and Rob Zvonar. There are nine former college or NFL place kickers on the Selection Committee, including Schebler, the 2009 Fred Mitchell Award recipient and the highest-scoring place kicker in NCAA history at any level.