Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Five Named to VaSID All-State Football Team

May 5, 2010  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Matt Bevins (left) and Mike Brown (right) were two of Liberty's five 2009 VaSID all-state selections.

Matt Bevins (left) and Mike Brown (right) were two of Liberty's five 2009 VaSID all-state selections.

Following a third-straight Big South championship season, five Liberty football players have been named to the 2009 VaSID all-state football teams, including two first-team selections.

The 50-member team, selected annually by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID), was dominated by William & Mary and Virginia. Both programs had 10 all-state selections, including a listing-best eight first-team honorees for the Tribe.

Richmond followed behind with nine all-state selections, while James Madison had seven student-athletes make the all-state listing. Liberty ranked fifth among all Division I football programs in the Commonwealth with its five total honorees.

Liberty has had strong representation on recent VaSID all-state teams, including the 2007 and 2008 listings where the Flames had eight all-state honorees each year. Liberty also had five all-state football players in 2006, matching this year's total, which is tied for the fourth-most all-state selections in program history.

Mike Brown and Matt Bevins were the Flames' pair of first-team honorees. Brown (R-So., Charlottesville, Va.) was one of two first-team all-state wide receiver selections, while Bevins (So., Newport News, Va.) was the Commonwealth's first-team kicker.

Following the 2009 season, Brown was named the Big South Offensive Player of the Year, the third Liberty Flame to earn the honor in program history. He led the team with 11 touchdowns scored, including nine rushing touchdowns. As a quarterback, Brown completed 48-of-68 passing attempts (70.6 percent) for 427 yards and four passing touchdowns.

Bevins was a consensus first-team All-America selection following his second year with the program. Bevins set program and Big South records with 107 points scored and 22 field goals and finished the year ranked No. 1 in the country in field goals per game (2.00) and No. 3 in scoring (9.73 points per game).

Joining Brown and Bevins on the all-state listings were fellow teammates Trey Jacobs, Bryan Mosier and Josh Weaver, each earning second-team all-state honors.

Mosier (R-Sr., Mansfield, Ohio) and Weaver (R-Sr., Starke, Fla.) were senior members of Liberty's offensive line, which paved the way for the Flames to rush for 31 touchdowns.

Liberty also led the nation in scoring offense, averaging 36.36 points per game, thanks in part to the play of the pair of Big South first-team all-conference linemen. Mosier was named to the all-state team as a guard and Weaver was named one of two second-team tackles.

Liberty's final all-state honoree was Jacobs (Sr., Columbia, S.C.), who recently signed a free agent contract with the Washington Redskins. The defensive end finished the year with 37 stops, which left him three shy of 100 for his career and helped him rank inside the Top 10 in tackles in the Big South Conference.

The state organization's top honors were shared between three programs, James Madison, Virginia Tech and William & Mary.

Virginia Tech's Ryan Williams was named VaSID Offensive Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year after scoring an ACC record 21 touchdowns and rushing for 1,720 yards.

Defensive Player of the Year honors went to James Madison's Arthur Moats, as the Buck Buchanan Award winner finished the season with 90 tackles, including a national-best 23.5 tackles for a loss and 11 sacks.

William & Mary's Jimmye Laycock was tabbed the state's Coach of the Year after the Tribe's skipper led his squad to an 11-3 record and a run to the semifinals of the NCAA FCS Playoffs.

2009 VaSID All-State Team

First Team – Offense
QB – R.J. Archer – William & Mary (Sr.)
RB – Jonathan Grimes – William & Mary (So.)
RB – Ryan Williams – Virginia Tech (Fr.)
WR – Chris Bell – Norfolk State (Jr.)
WR – Mike Brown – Liberty (So.)
TE – Rob Varno – William & Mary (Sr.)
C – C.J. Muse – William & Mary (Sr.)
G – Dorian Brooks – James Madison (Sr.)
G – Matt McCracken – Richmond (Sr.)
T – Michael Silva – Richmond (Sr.)
T – Ed Wang – Virginia Tech (Sr.)

Second Team – Offense
QB – Eric Ward – Richmond (Sr)
RB – LaMarcus Coker – Hampton (Sr.)
RB – Justin Forte – Richmond (Sr.)
WR – Jarrett Boykin – Virginia Tech (So.)
WR – D.J. McAulay – William & Mary (Sr.)
TE – Mike Caussin – James Madison (Sr.)
C – William Falakiseni – Norfolk State (Jr.)
G – Bryan Mosier – Liberty (Sr.)
G – Sergio Render – Virginia Tech (Sr.)
T – Theo Sherman – James Madison (Jr.)
T – Josh Weaver – Liberty (Sr.)

First Team – Defense
DL – Sean Lissemore – William & Mary (Sr.)
DL – Arthur Moats – James Madison (Sr.)
DL – Martin Parker – Richmond (Jr.)
DL – Adrian Tracy – William & Mary (Sr.)
LB – Cody Grimm – Virginia Tech (Sr.)
LB – Eric McBride – Richmond (Jr.)
LB – Collin McConaghy – Richmond (Sr.)
CB – Justin Rogers – Richmond (Jr.)
CB – B.W. Webb – William & Mary (Fr.)
S – David Caldwell – William & Mary (Sr.)
S – Terrell Whitehead – Norfolk State (Sr.)

Second Team – Defense
DL – Nate Collins – Virginia (Sr.)
DL – Sam Daniels – James Madison (Sr.)
DL – Trey Jacobs – Liberty (Sr.)
DL – Jason Worilds – Virginia Tech (Jr.)
LB – Steve Greer – Virginia (Fr.)
LB – Julio Sanchez – Hampton (Jr.)
LB – Jake Trantin – William & Mary (So.)
CB – Ras-I Dowling – Virginia (Jr.)
CB – Scotty McGee – James Madison (Sr.)
S – Kam Chancellor – Virginia Tech (Sr.)
S – Michael Ireland – Richmond (Sr.)

First Team – Specialists
PK – Matt Bevins – Liberty (So.)

P – Jonathan Plisco – Old Dominion (Fr.)
RS – Scotty McGee – James Madison (Sr.)

Second Team – Specialists
PK – Matt Waldron – Virginia Tech (Sr.)
P – Brent Bowden – Virginia Tech (Sr.)
RS – Dyrell Roberts – Virginia Tech (So.)

Offensive Player of the Year
Ryan Williams, Virginia Tech (Fr.)

Defensive Player of the Year
Arthur Moats, James Madison (Sr.)

Rookie of the Year
Ryan Williams, Virginia Tech

Coach of the Year
Jimmye Laycock, William & Mary