Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Teufel Named to Pitcher of the Year List

March 23, 2010  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Pitcher Shawn Teufel has been named to the National Pitcher of the Year Award Watch List

Pitcher Shawn Teufel has been named to the National Pitcher of the Year Award Watch List

Liberty senior Shawn Teufel has been listed on the 2010 National Pitcher of the Year Watch List. The list was released for the first time this year by the College Baseball Foundation.

The National Pitcher of the Year Award will be presented in Lubbock, Texas, on July 2 as part of the College Baseball Awards show. The initial watch list includes 49 pitchers from around the country.

Teufel has opened the 2010 season with a 4-0 record and a 0.62 ERA in five starts. The left-hander leads the Big South Conference in both wins and ERA. He has allowed only two runs over 29 innings this season, striking out 28 batters and walking 18.

Teufel is also holding opponents to a .170 batting average, which ranks second among Big South pitchers.

After yielding one run in the opening inning of Liberty season opener at Kennesaw State, Teufel ran off a string of 24 scoreless innings, before giving up a run during the Flames' 8-4 win over Manhattan, Friday.

Last season, Teufel earned All-Big South first team and VaSID second team awards during a 9-2 season with a 4.33 ERA.

The College Baseball Awards Show is part of a nearly weeklong schedule of festivities sponsored by the College Baseball Foundation. The events include the induction ceremony for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Pitcher of the Year Watch List

Player School
Jimmy Nelson Alabama Drew Pomeranz Mississippi
Jake Borup Arizona State Tyler Anderson Oregon
Mitchell Lambson Arizona State Greg Peavey Oregon State
Josh Spence Arizona State Tanner Robles Oregon State
Drew Smyly Arkansas Addison Reed San Diego State
Logan Verrett Baylor D.D. Hanks South Alabama
Eric Johnson California Trever Vermeulen South Dakota State
Asher Wojciechowski Citadel Josh Janway Southeastern Louisiana
Matt Rein Coastal Carolina Scott Copeland Southern Mississippi
Cody Wheeler Coastal Carolina Todd McInnis Southern Mississippi
Alex Panteliodis Florida Cole Green Texas
John Gast Florida State Taylor Jungmann Texas
Sean Gilmartin Florida State Chance Ruffin Texas
Deck McGuire Georgia Tech Barret Loux Texas A&M
Drew Leininger Indiana John Stilson Texas A&M
Matt Little Kentucky Daniel Bibona UC Irvine
Shawn Teufel Liberty Eric Pettis UC Irvine
Anthony Ranaudo Louisiana State Mario Hollands UC Santa Barbara
Neil Holland Louisville Trevor Bauer UCLA
Thomas Royse Louisville Gerrit Cole UCLA
Matt Harvey North Carolina Jason Mitchell UT Arlington
Francis Brooke Northwestern Sonny Gray Vanderbilt
Alex Wimmers Ohio State Danny Hultzen Virginia
Jeremy Erben Oklahoma Jesse Hahn Virginia Tech
Aaron Barrett Mississippi