Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

Three Flames Named All-Conference First Team

November 13, 2009  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Defender Chris Mandell

Defender Chris Mandell

Liberty senior defenders Chris Mandell and Michael Ward along with forward Darren Amoo were selected to the Big South All-Conference first team, the league announced. The announcement was made before the fourth game of the day of the Big South Championship quarterfinals between No.2 seed High Point and No. 7seed Radford at Greene-Harbison Field on the campus of Gardner-Webb.

Forward Timothy Bullock (So., Forest, Va.), midfielder Chris Phillips (R-So., Brownsburg, Ind.) and goalkeeper Andrew Madero (Jr., Tampa, Fla.) were named to the all-conference second team. Ward (R-Sr., Seffner, Fla.) and midfielder Juan Guzman (Sr., Charlotte, N.C.) were selected to the all-academic team.

Mandell (R-Sr., Bowling Green, Va.), Ward and Amoo (Accra, Ghana) each were named to the all-conference first team, selected by the Big South men's soccer coaches, for the first time.

Ward, who was voted to the all-conference second team in 2005, and Mandell were members of a strong defensive unit for the Flames this season. Each defender started all 17 Liberty contests this year, helping the Flames rank fifth in the nation with a 0.51 team goals-against entering tonight's contest in the Big South Championship quarterfinals against UNC Asheville. In addition, the team captains have been a key part of Liberty posting 10 shutouts this season, a 0.59 shutout percentage which ranks seventh in the country.

Amoo leads Liberty with 13 goals and has added four assists for 30 points. His season point total ranks eighth all-time in school annuals. In addition, his goal total ties him for sixth on the program's single-season goal list.

The forward is sixth in the country with .76 goals per game and is 10th in the nation with 1.76 points per game. Amoo tops the Big South in several categories incLibertyding goals, points and goals per game. He is also ti ed for the conference lead with four game-winning goals.

Coastal Carolina midfielder Djamel Bekka was named the 2009 Big South Conference Men's Soccer Player of the Year. High Point Head Coach Dustin Fonder was selected as the 2009 Big South Coach of the Year, while High Point's Shawn Sloan was voted the league's Freshman of the Year. Gardner-Webb goalkeeper Trent Kozman was named Big South Conference Men's Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

No. 3 seed Liberty advanced to tomorrow's second round with a 1-0 victory over No. 6 seed UNC Asheville earlier tonight.


Player of the Year
Djamel Bekka, Coastal Carolina

Freshman of the Year
Shawn Sloan, High Point

Coach of the Year
Dustin Fonder, High Point

First Team All-Big South
Matt Skonicki, Winthrop
Gerard Hefferon, Gardner-Webb
Darren Amoo, Liberty

Djamel Bekka, Coastal Carolina
Stephen Nsereko, Winthrop
Michael Libertyk, Winthrop
Shawn Sloan, High Point

Alex Russell, Coastal Carolina
Michael Ward, Liberty
Jovan Ivanovich, Gardner-Webb
Chris Mandell, Liberty

Scott Angevine, Coastal Carolina

Second Team All-Big South
Tim Bullock, Liberty
Bryan Bartels, UNC Asheville
Fejiro Okiomah, High Point

Romeo Kabanda, Gardner-Webb
Matt Schroeder, Coastal Carolina
James Stapleton, Coastal Carolina
Chris Phillips, Liberty

Daniel DiBiagio, Winthrop
Jon Ole Reinhardsen, Gardner-Webb
Ayao Sossou, VMI
Todd Ray, High Point

Andrew Madero, Liberty

All-Freshman Team
Luis Faz, Coastal Carolina
Sean McCormack, Coastal Carolina
John Sargent, Gardner-Webb
Shawn Sloan, High Point
Fejiro Okiomah, High Point
Myles Jones, Radford
James Jordan, Radford
Patrick Donahue, High Point
Enrique Miranda, Winthrop
Daniel DiBiagio, Winthrop
David Parra, UNC Asheville
Zachery Odum, UNC Ashevile

All-Academic Team
Trent Kozman, Gardner-Webb (Scholar-Athlete of the Year)
Juan Guzman, Liberty
Adam Hatem, High Point
Matt Horn, Winthrop
Sam Eastridge, Presbyterian
Justin Zimmer, Radford
Sonny Landry, VMI
Jake Hagedorn, UNC Asheville
Robert Hunter, Coastal Carolina
Jake Sides, UNC Asheville
Michael Ward, Liberty