Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

Liberty No. 3 seed for Big South Championship

November 8, 2009  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
2009 Liberty Flames

2009 Liberty Flames

The Liberty Flames men's soccer team has earned the No. 3 seed for the upcoming Big South Men's Soccer Championship, which starts Thursday at Vert Stadium in High Point, N.C., with four games.

With their 2-1 victory over UNC Asheville Saturday, the Flames finished the Big South regular season tied for their in the conference standings with the Winthrop Eagles at 4-2-2. Liberty garnered the No. 3 seed by virtue of its 3-0 win over Winthrop on Oct. 31 at Osborne Stadium.

The Flames finished the 2009 regular season with a 10-4-3 overall record, collecting a double-digit season win total for the second consecutive year and the 14th time in program history.

Liberty will face the No. 6 seed UNC Asheville Bulldogs in a rematch of yesterday's contest in Asheville. The Bulldogs posted a 2-5-1 record in conference play and enter Thursday first round match with the Flames at 6-11-2 overall record. The two teams will meet in the third game of the day scheduled to start at 5 p.m.

The Coastal Carolina Chanticleers finished the season with a 5-0-3 Big South mark to claim the No. 1 seed in the tournament. Host High Point with a 5-1-2 picked up the conference's No. 2 seed.

After Liberty and Winthrop, Gardner-Webb, the fifth conference team with four wins in Big South play, grabbed the No. 5 seed with a 4-3-1 record. UNC Asheville followed. Radford finished in at the No. 7 slot, while VMI will be the tournament's No. 8 seed

The 2009 Big South Men's Soccer Championship will be played at Vert Stadium on the campus of High Point University, Thursday and concludes with the title game on Sunday. All seven games of the Big South Men's Soccer Championship will air live on the Big South Network. The Big South's Tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Men's Soccer Tournament. The Conference Championship schedule is as follows:

Thursday, Nov. 12
Game 1: No. seed 4 Winthrop vs. No. 5 seed Gardner-Webb, Noon
Game 2: No. 1 seed Coastal Carolina vs. No. 8 VMI, 2:30 p.m.
Game 3: No. 3 seed Liberty vs. No. 6 seed UNC Asheville, 5 p.m.
Game 4: No. 2 seed High Point vs. No. 7seed Radford, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 13
Game 5: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner (Semifinals), 4 p.m.
Game 6: Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner (Semifinals), 7 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 15
Game 7: Game 5 winner vs. Game 6 winner (Championship), 2 p.m.