Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Oberlin Named All-Big South First Team

November 5, 2008  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Amy Oberlin

Amy Oberlin

Liberty Lady Flames women's soccer player Amy Oberlin has been named to the 2008 Big South All-Conference first team, while teammate Silvia Betancourt was selected to the all-conference second team and the loop's all-freshman team, the league announced this evening. The announcement was made at the conference's annual women's soccer awards banquet, held in High Point, N.C.

With the selection, Oberlin (Sr., F/MF, Ada, Mich.) becomes only the second Liberty women's soccer player to be named to the all-conference team each of her four seasons in a Lady Flame uniform. In addition, she is only the third Lady Flame to be selected to the first team three times. Oberlin joins former Liberty standouts Nancy Davis, who was named to four All-Big South first teams from 1998-2001, and Mandee Judd Wheelock, who was selected to the first team in 2003, 2005 and 2006.

The senior forward has been selected all-conference first team the past three seasons, after being named to the Big South's All-Conference second team her freshman year. Having played in all 17 Liberty games this season, the Lady Flames' leading scorer is tied for fourth in the conference with 18 points and tied for third with eight goals. She also picked up two assists during the year. Oberlin finished her career ranked second on both the program's all-time points list with 54 and on the goals list with 24. In addition, she was honored with selection to the 2008 Big South All-Academic team for her efforts in the classroom, as well as on the soccer field. It is the second straight year Oberlin has been selected to the all-academic team.

Betancourt (Fr., F, San Jose, Costa Rica) was named to the all-conference second team after her first year in a Lady Flames uniform. The forward compiled 11 points on four goals and three assists this season. Her three assists came in a 5-1 win over Presbyterian on Oct. 18. Betancourt also was selected to the 2008 Big South All-Freshman team.

For the second consecutive year Coastal Carolina midfielder Ashleigh Gunning was awarded the Big South Women's Soccer Player of the Year honor. VMI Head Coach Bryan Williams was named the conference's Coach of the Year.

VMI forward Olivia Moore, the conference's leading scorer, was voted Freshman of the Year, while Coastal Carolina's Emily McColl was selected as the 2008 Big South Women's Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

2008 Big South Conference Women's Soccer Award Winners
First-team All-Conference

Ashleigh Gunning, F, Coastal Carolina
Caitlyn Roan, D, Radford
Emily McColl, MF, Coastal Carolina
Emma Mattsson, F, Charleston Southern
Laura Eldridge, MF, High Point
Audrey Falconi, D, VMI
Olivia Moore, F, VMI
Rachel Lamb, D, Presbyterian
McKenzie Vergara, MF, Radford
Angie Harvey, MF, Gardner-Webb
Robyn Busha, MF/F, UNC Asheville
Amy Oberlin, MF, Liberty
Lisa Lubke, GK, Radford

Second-team All-Conference
Sarah McPartlan, D, Coastal Carolina
Brittany Bolick, D, Charleston Southern
Silvia Betancourt, F, Liberty
Caitlin Wesnesky, MF, Charleston Southern
Brianna Murphy, F, Charleston Southern
Renee Hitchcock, F, High Point
McKenna Stockhausen, MF/F, UNC Asheville
Maegen Hellberg, D, Coastal Carolina
Ashley Johnson, F, Radford
Anna Tupy, MF, Coastal Carolina
Chelsea White, MF, Winthrop
Celine Ziobro, D, VMI
Sara Rager, F, High Point
Dimitra Poulos, GK, Winthrop

All-Freshman Team
Olivia Moore, F, VMI
Lisa Lubke GK, Radford
Taylor Ray, MF, High Point
Silvia Betancourt, F, Liberty
Casey Bolduc, D, Charleston Southern
Ashley Johnson, F, Radford
Marissa Terry, D, Coastal Carolina
Megan Tremblay, MF, Gardner-Webb
Chelsea Tidwell, MF, Winthrop
Mary Kate Tucker, D, UNC Asheville
Sarah Strand, MF, VMI

Academic All-Conference
Emma Mattsson, Sr., Charleston Southern
Emily McColl, Sr., Coastal Carolina
Angie Harvey, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Laura Eldridge, Jr., High Point
Amy Oberlin, Sr., Liberty
Rachel Lamb, Jr., Presbyterian
Jill Boyer, Jr., Radford
Juliana Duncan, Sr., UNC Asheville
Audrey Falconi, Jr., VMI
Tricia Leigh Vensel, Winthrop

Player of the Year
Ashleigh Gunning, MF, Coastal Carolina

Freshman of the Year
Olivia Moore, F, VMI

Coach of the Year
Bryan Williams, VMI

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Emily McColl, Coastal Carolina