Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

Smith Named Preseason Mid-Major All-American

November 4, 2008  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Senior Anthony Smith adds to his preseason accolades after named him a Preseason Mid-Major All-American.

Senior Anthony Smith adds to his preseason accolades after named him a Preseason Mid-Major All-American.

Liberty senior guard Anthony Smith continues to rack up the preseason accolades, after named him to its Preseason Mid-Major All-America list.

Smith (Plano, Texas) becomes the second Liberty player to earn such honors, joining Larry Blair, who was named to the preseason squad prior to the 2006-07 campaign. The Preseason Mid-Major All-America team consists of 25 players. Division I coaches and NBA scouts are part of the selection process, with the final decision resting with the staff. The entire team is listed at the bottom of this page.

During the 2007-08 season, Smith was the only player in the nation to attempt at least 200 three-point field goals and succeed on at least 40 percent of his three-point field goal attempts (41.0), while also connecting on 50 percent of his field goal attempts (51.5). He was one of five players in the nation to accomplish the same feat while attempting at least 100 three-point field goals. The other players were Mario Chalmers (Kansas), Lee Cummard (BYU), Malik Hairston (Oregon) and James Harden (Arizona State). Smith led the Flames in scoring last season (16.0 ppg) and is the second-leading returning scorer in the Big South Conference.

2007-08 was a solid campaign for Smith, as he broke Liberty records for three-point field goals (84) and three-point field goal attempts (205), while setting the fifth-best season success rate from beyond the arc (41.0) He also became the 20th player in program history to reach the 1,000-point plateau, but only the eighth to do so during Liberty's Division I era. Smith has also earned several other preseason accolades, including being named Big South Preseason Player of the Year by the conference's coaches and media, the Sporting News and Blue Ribbon, as well as being a "Candidate to Consider" for the Wooden Award.

Smith is the lone Big South representative on the Preseason Mid-Major All-America list. Last season, High Point's Arizona Reid and VMI's Reggie Williams represented the conference. Reid was a two-time player of the year in the conference. Two years ago, Torrell Martin of Winthrop and Chris Oliver of Radford joined Blair on the preseason team. Blair is the only Liberty player to earn postseason honors, when he was named to the All-America Freshman squad after the 2003-04 season. has been covering college basketball since 1996.

Smith and the Flames open up the 2008-09 season on Nov. 14, when Montreat invades the Vines Center. Tip-off is slated for 9:15 p.m., or 20 minutes following the conclusion of the Lady Flames' WNIT contest with VCU. Preseason Mid-Major All-American Team

Players from mid-major schools that are named to the regular preseason All-American list are not included on the preseason Mid-Major All-American list. Example: Stephen Curry (Davidson), Lester Hudson (UT-Martin), Patrick Mills (St. Mary's) and Jeremy Pargo (Gonzaga).

Josh Alexander G 6-4 Sr. Stephen F. Austin
Marqus Blakely F 6-5 Jr. Vermont
Michael Bramos G/F 6-5 Sr. Miami University
J'Nathan Bullock F 6-5 Sr. Cleveland State
Chris Devine F 6-8 Sr. UC Santa Barbara
Osiris Eldridge G 6-3 Jr. Illinois State
Jeremiah Dominguez G 5-6 Sr. Portland State
Al Fisher G 6-1 Sr. Kent State
Jeremy Goode G 5-9 Jr. Mount St. Mary's
Kenny Hasbrouck G 6-3 Sr. Siena
Matt Howard F 6-8 So. Butler
Brandon Johnson G 6-0 Sr. San Diego
Johnathon Jones G 5-11 Jr. Oakland
Gerald Lee C/F 6-10 Jr. Old Dominion
Eric Maynor G 6-2 Sr. VCU
Josh Mayo G 5-11 Sr. Illinois-Chicago
Tywain McKee G 6-2 Sr. Coppin State
Derrick Mercer G 5-9 Sr. American
Gyno Pomare F 6-8 Sr. San Diego
Gerald Robinson G 6-0 So. Tennessee State
Anthony Smith G 6-5 Sr. Liberty
Ryan Thompson G 6-6 Jr. Rider
Edwin Ubiles G/F 6-6 Jr. Siena
Ryan Wittman F 6-6 Jr. Cornell
Desmond Yates F 6-7 Jr. Middle Tennessee

HONORABLE MENTION: Vaughn Duggins (Wright State: G, 6-3, Jr.), Russell Hicks (Florida International: C, 7-0, Sr.), Cedric Jackson (Cleveland State: G, 6-3, Sr.), David Kool (Western Michigan: G, 6-3, Jr.), Carlos Monroe (Florida Atlantic: F, 6-8, Sr.), Diamon Simpson (St. Mary's: F, 6-7, Sr.)