Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

Frazee, Green, Fasnacht Headline BSC Honorees

March 13, 2008  Asheville, N.C.  RSS
|   Share
Big South Conference Commissioner Kyle B. Kallander presents Liberty's three seniors--(L-R) Courtney Watkins, Egle Smigelskaite and Allyson Fasnacht--with the 2007-08 Big South regular-season champion trophy.

Big South Conference Commissioner Kyle B. Kallander presents Liberty's three seniors--(L-R) Courtney Watkins, Egle Smigelskaite and Allyson Fasnacht--with the 2007-08 Big South regular-season champion trophy.

The Liberty women's basketball team claimed three major awards at the annual Big South Women's Basketball Awards Banquet, held this evening at the Biltmore Country Club in Asheville, N.C. Megan Frazee was honored as the Big South Player of the Year, Carey Green was tabbed Big South Coach of the Year and Allyson Fasnacht was voted Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Two other Lady Flames received recognition as well, as Moriah Frazee (Jr., F, Xenia, Ohio) joined sister Megan Frazee (Jr., G/F, Xenia, Ohio) on the first-team all-conference roster. Senior Courtney Watkins (G, Bristol, Tenn.) earned inclusion on the second-team all-conference squad.

Radford senior center Kelli Darden took home the Big South Defensive Player of the Year award for the second year in a row. High Point forward Mackenzie Maier nabbed the evening's final major award, claiming the Big South Freshman of the Year honor.

Megan Frazee became Liberty's seventh conference player of the year in the last 11 seasons, but the first since 2004-05, when Katie Feenstra claimed the last of her three-straight honors. The Buckeye State native, who won the Big South Player of the Week award a season-high six times this season, paced the conference in scoring (18.4 ppg), free throw percentage (.876) and double-doubles (13). She also ranked second among Big South players with 9.5 rpg. Frazee, the MVP of both the National City Xavier Invitational and the UNLV Lady Rebel Christmas Classic, made the first-team all-conference list for the second-straight year. She has stepped up her level of play during Big South competition, averaging 20.2 ppg and 10.9 rpg.

Green was named the conference coach of the year for the fourth time, becoming the first Big South coach ever to win a quartet of coach of the year distinctions. Green led Liberty to a 26-3 overall record this season, equaling the program record for most regular-season victories. His Lady Flames also claimed their eighth Big South regular-season title in his nine seasons at Liberty, with an 11-1 league mark. Green won his 200th career game on Jan. 19 at Charleston Southern, and currently owns a career coaching record of 211-67. Defense and rebounding have been the calling cards of all Green-coached teams, and the 2007-08 Lady Flames are no exception. Liberty is listed second nationally in field goal percentage defense (.338) and fifth in rebounding margin (+10.7).

Fasnacht (Sr., Salem, Va.) is the third Lady Flame ever to receive the Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor. She previously earned ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District second-team honors this season. The senior is part of the Big South All-Academic Team for the second time, as she also earned inclusion in 2005-06. Fasnacht graduated with a bachelor's degree in sport management, earning an undergraduate GPA of 3.88. She has begun work toward an MBA and currently owns a 3.66 GPA. Fasnacht, who has started every game at point guard this season, ranks sixth in the Big South with 2.9 apg.

Moriah Frazee gave Liberty a pair of first-team all-conference selections for the seventh time in the last 12 years. She and Megan Frazee are the first sister duo ever to make the first-team All-Big South squad during the same season. Her first career all-conference notation came after she paced the Big South with a .581 field goal percentage, ranked fifth in scoring (13.2 ppg) and was ninth in rebounding (5.6 rpg). A two-time Big South Player of the Week, Frazee was an all-tournament team honoree at the National City Xavier Invitational and UNLV Lady Rebel Christmas Classic.

Watkins also won the first all-conference distinction of her career. The senior guard is in the midst of a career year, averaging 8.7 ppg and 4.3 rpg. She ranks in the top 10 of four Big South Categories, as she is second in three-point field goal percentage (.398), sixth in field goal percentage (.442), ninth in three-pointers made (35) and 10th in assists (2.4 apg.) A durable player, Watkins has not missed a game during her four years with the Lady Flames, a streak which numbers 124 contests. She will tie former teammate Michelle Parker's conference record for career games played during her next appearance.

The top-seeded Lady Flames have earned a bye into the first of Saturday's two Big South Women's Basketball Championship semifinal contests. Liberty will play either No. 4-seed High Point or No. 5-seed Coastal Carolina, Saturday at 6 p.m. at UNC Asheville's Justice Center. The game will be televised by SportSouth and may be seen on WDRL in the greater Lynchburg area.

2007-08 Big South Conference Women's Basketball Award Winners

First-team All-Conference
Megan Frazee, Liberty
Kelli Darden, Radford
Ashley Fann, Winthrop
Moriah Frazee, Liberty
Pam Tolbert, Charleston Southern

Second-team All-Conference
Johnette Walker, Radford
Mackenzie Maier, High Point
Ashton Barton, UNC Asheville
Vicky Blanchard, Coastal Carolina
Courtney Watkins, Liberty

All-Freshman Team
Mackenzie Maier, High Point
Taleia Moton, Radford
Jurica Hargraves, High Point
Crystal Robinson, Charleston Southern
Sydnei Moss, Coastal Carolina
Frances Fields, High Point

Academic All-Conference
Tina DeCarvalho, Charleston Southern
C.J. Ware, Coastal Carolina
Amy Will, High Point
Allyson Fasnacht, Liberty
Amy Jones, Presbyterian
Johnette Walker, Radford
Ana Baker, UNC Asheville
Ashley Fann, Winthrop

Player of the Year
Megan Frazee, Liberty

Defensive Player of the Year
Kelli Darden, Radford

Freshman of the Year
Mackenzie Maier, High Point

Coach of the Year
Carey Green, Liberty

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Allyson Fasnacht, Liberty