Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

McLean, Anderson & Ohman Honored by BSC

March 3, 2008  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Alex McLean, Kyle Ohman and Jeremy Anderson earn postseason Big South Conference honors.

Alex McLean, Kyle Ohman and Jeremy Anderson earn postseason Big South Conference honors.

The Big South Conference announced today its annual postseason awards and Liberty's Alex McLean, Jeremy Anderson and Kyle Ohman were included on this year's list. McLean's first-team selection highlights the Liberty honorees.

McLean (Sr., Forward, Bay Shore, N.Y.) was named to the first team, marking the sixth-straight year Liberty has placed a player on the first team, tying the second-best streak in conference history. The streak also serves as the longest current streak among conference teams.

"Alex is very deserving of the award," said head coach Ritchie McKay. "I think anytime a player is named to the first team his teammates had a hand in helping him get there. No one works harder than Alex, which is the foundation of his first-team selection."

McLean ranks No. 6 in the Big South in scoring with 15.8 points per game, while pulling down 8.9 rebounds per game, which ranks No. 3 in the league. The senior also ranks No. 2 in the conference in field goal percentage (55.7), while being one of three players in the league to be ranked in the Top 6 in both scoring and rebounding.

Anderson (Fr., Guard, Bowling Green, Ky.), who missed the season's first nine games due to foot surgery on Nov. 8, was named to the all-freshman team. The rookie averaged 7.0 points per game during the season, connecting on 40.6 percent of his attempts from three-point land. Anderson spent most of the conference season leading the conference in league-only games in three-point field goal shooting. Anderson finished second in that category, hitting 41.7 percent of his attempts in Big South play. Anderson's season-high 20 point game at VMI on Jan. 28 marked the first time a Liberty freshman tallied at least 20 points since David Dees posted 22 in the first round of the 2004 NCAA Tournament.

"Jeremy had a great year, considering how much time he missed to start the season," commented McKay. "He showed maturity beyond his years by coming back and getting himself mentally and physically ready to make an impact on our team and in the league."

Ohman (So., Guard, Mechanicsburg, Pa.) was named to the Big South Academic All-Conference team. The walk-on, who appeared in only 10 games as a freshman, played in all 30 regular-season games, starting seven. Ohman tallied 7.4 points per game and connected on 39.6 percent of his three-point attempts. Ohman is a sport management major with a 3.38 cumulative GPA.

"I really like where our program is heading in terms of our commitment to the student-athlete," said McKay. "Kyle Ohman's representation of Liberty on the all-academic team is great for us and hopefully we will have many more to come."

Complete Big South All-Conference Honors List

First-team All-Conference
Arizona Reid, F, Sr., High Point
Reggie Williams, F, Sr.,VMI
Bryan Smithson, G, R-Sr., UNC Asheville
Jack Leasure, G, Sr., Coastal Carolina
Alex McLean, F, Sr., Liberty

Second-team All-Conference
Chris Gaynor, G, Sr., Winthrop
Michael Jenkins, G, Sr., Winthrop
Kenny George, C, R-Jr., UNC Asheville
K.J. Garland, G, R-Sr., UNC Asheville
Chavis Holmes, G, Jr., VMI

All-Freshman Team
Omar Carter, F, Charleston Southern
Jamarco Warren, G, Charleston Southern
Anthony Breeze, F, Coastal Carolina
Charles Corbin, C, Winthrop
Jeremy Anderson, G, Liberty

Academic All-Conference
Giedrius Knysas, Jr., Charleston Southern
Jack Leasure, Sr., Coastal Carolina
Matt Boswell, Jr., High Point
Kyle Ohman, So., Liberty
Phillip Martin, So., Radford
Walt Allen, So., Presbyterian
K.J. Garland, R-Sr., UNC Asheville
Adam Lonon, So., VMI

Player of the Year
Arizona Reid, F, Sr., High Point

Defensive Player of the Year
Kenny George, C, R-Jr, UNC Asheville

Freshman of the Year
Omar Carter, F, Charleston Southern

Coach of the Year
Eddie Biedenbach, UNC Asheville

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jack Leasure, Sr., Coastal Carolina