Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Amader, DiMartino Named to ASUN All-Tournament Team

May 11, 2019  Fort Myers, Fla.   RSS
|   Share
Amader, DiMartino Named to ASUN All-Tournament Team

Liberty seniors Jaclyn Amader and Julia DiMartino have been named to the ASUN Softball Championship All-Tournament Team, as voted on by the conference's head coaches and media representatives.

The second-seeded Lady Flames went 1-2 at the 2019 ASUN Softball Championship, defeating No. 6 seed North Florida on Thursday before falling to eventual champion No. 1 seed Lipscomb on Friday. North Florida topped Liberty 3-1 today to advance to the ASUN final.

DiMartino was named to an all-tournament team for the second year in a row, as she also earned 2018 Big South All-Tournament honors. She joins Alexia Taylor (2017, 2018) as the only players in program history to be named to a conference's all-tournament team in back-to-back years.

Tournament champion Lipscomb received four honorees, led by Tournament MVP, pitcher Mandy Jordan. Runner-up North Florida earned three awards, while Liberty followed with two and FGCU and North Alabama had one honoree each.

A native of Brockport, N.Y., DiMartino went 1-1 with a 1.43 ERA and 10 strikeouts in 14 2/3 innings pitched during the tournament. She pitched in all three games, including a four-hit shutout over North Florida on Thursday in which she struck out six. DiMartino tossed 1 2/3 innings of hitless relief against Lipscomb before drawing the loss today versus North Florida.

Hailing from Rocklin, Calif., Amader made an impact both at the plate and in the field. She batted 3-for-9 (.333) with one double, one stolen base and one run scored, going 1-for-3 in all three games. She robbed Lipscomb's Sarah Higgins of a homer in the first inning yesterday. During today's game against North Florida, she doubled and scored Liberty's lone run in the fourth inning.

2019 ASUN Softball Championship All-Tournament Team
Kate Kelly, FGCU
Jaclyn Amader, Liberty
Julia DiMartino, Liberty

Jordan Fortel, Lipscomb
Graysen Gladden, Lipscomb
Sarah Higgins, Lipscomb
Mandy Jordan, Lipscomb (MVP)
Megan Garst, North Alabama
Morgan Clausen, North Florida
Navia Penrod, North Florida
Paige Pfent, North Florida

Up Next
Liberty will await word on its postseason fate. The Lady Flames entered the week with an RPI of 52, and will likely be selected for the National Invitational Softball Championship (NISC) or the NCAA Division I Softball Championship. Both tournaments will announce their fields tomorrow night. Liberty won the 2017 NISC title, hosting both the regional and national rounds.