Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

Green Voted Big South WBB Player of the Year, Baker Tabbed Freshman of the Year

March 6, 2018  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
(L-R): Molly Reagan, Keyen Green, Ashtyn Baker and KK Barbour each won Big South Conference awards on Tuesday.

(L-R): Molly Reagan, Keyen Green, Ashtyn Baker and KK Barbour each won Big South Conference awards on Tuesday.

Big South regular-season champion Liberty swept the Big South Player of the Year (sophomore Keyen Green) and Freshman of the Year (Ashtyn Baker) honors on Tuesday, as voted upon by the conference head coaches. Green was also a first team All-Big South performer, while fellow post players KK Barbour (honorable mention All-Big South) and Molly Reagan (Big South All-Academic Team) earned conference recognition of their own.

Radford also earned a pair of major awards, including Coach of the Year (Mike McGuire) and Defensive Player of the Year (Jayda Worthy). For the second season in a row, Presbyterian's Janie Miles was voted Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the conference sports information directors.

This is just the second time Liberty has ever swept the Big South Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors. Sharon Wilkerson was named Player of the Year and Michelle Fricke was tabbed Freshman of the Year during Carey Green's first year as head coach, 2000.

Green is the fifth different Lady Flame to be voted Big South Player of the Year but the first since Megan Frazee in 2009. She joins Elena Kisseleva (1998) and Katie Feenstra (2003) as Liberty's only sophomores ever to win the award.

Green, Kisseleva (1997 & 1998) and Winthrop's Dequesha McClanahan (2011 & 2012) are the only conference players ever to be named Big South Freshman of the Year one season and Player of the Year the next.

Baker is the Lady Flames' sixth Big South Freshman of the Year all-time and the second in a row, following Green's honor a year ago. Liberty has won back-to-back Big South Freshman of the Year awards for the first time in program history.

Green received 120 points and two first-place votes to edge Presbyterian's Cortney Storey (118 points, three first-place votes) for Player of the Year honors. Green earned her first career Big South Player of the Week award on Feb. 5 and earned a spot on the UMKC Roo Holiday Classic (Dec. 19-20) all-tournament team. The Philadelphia, Pa., native leads the Big South and ranks No. 14 nationally in field goal percentage (60.4). She also ranks among the Big South leaders in rebounding (seventh, 6.5 rpg) and scoring (eighth, 13.1 ppg).

Green stepped up during conference play, scoring in double figures 15 times in 18 games, highlighted by a career-high 30-point outburst against Campbell on Jan. 20. She averaged 14.9 ppg, shot 63.2 percent from the field and made 77.4 percent of her free throws during Big South games. As a result, Green makes her first appearance on the first team All-Big South roster, following a berth on the second team All-Big South squad as a freshman.

Baker was a clear choice as Freshman of the Year, claiming seven first-place votes and 36 total points to the one first-place nod and 26 total points of Winthrop's Anika Riley. Baker garnered a conference-high five Big South Freshman of the Week honors (Nov. 13, Dec. 4, Dec. 27, Feb. 19 and Feb. 26) this season, tied for the second most in program history. A point guard from Nesbit, Miss., Baker leads Big South freshmen in scoring (7.7 ppg), assists (3.1 apg) and steals (1.4 spg), while ranking fifth overall on the conference assist leaders list and eighth in steals.

Barbour, a junior from Charlottesville, Va., ranks second on the team in scoring (9.4 ppg), rebounding (5.8 rpg) and steals (1.3 spg). She reached double figures in 10 of 18 Big South games, including one 20-point contest and a pair of double-doubles. Barbour's biggest game of the year was a 24-point, 13-rebound outing against UMass on Nov. 25.

Reagan graduated with a 3.96 GPA and a bachelor's degree in criminal justice in May 2017, after just two years on campus. The product of Braintree, Mass., currently owns a 4.0 GPA as she works toward an MBA. On the court, Reagan is shooting a career-best 53.1 percent from the field this season and scored a career-high 18 points versus Shippensburg on Dec. 16.

Green, Baker, Barbour and Reagan will receive their hardware prior to the Lady Flames' first game at this weekend's Big South Women's Basketball Championship at the Vines Center. No. 1 seed Liberty will open play in the quarterfinal round, Friday at noon, versus the winner of Thursday's contest between No. 8 seed Charleston Southern and No. 9 seed Longwood.

2017-18 Big South Conference Women's Basketball Award Winners

First Team All-Conference
Keyen Green, F, Soph., Liberty

Cortney Storey, G, Sr., Presbyterian
Janayla White, F, Sr., Radford
Bronaza Fitzgerald, C, Sr., UNC Asheville
Emma Bockrath, G, Jr., High Point

Second Team All-Conference
Jayda Worthy, F, Sr., Radford
Khaila Webb, G, Sr., UNC Asheville
Summer Price, G, Sr., Campbell
Alexus Hill, G, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Tierra Huntsman, G, R-Sr., Gardner-Webb

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Autumn Childress, G, Sr., Longwood
Destinee Walker, G, Jr., Radford
KK Barbour, F, Jr., Liberty
MaKala Rouse, G, Sr., Campbell
Kacie Hall, G, Soph., Presbyterian

All-Freshman Team
Ashtyn Baker, G, Fr., Liberty

Anika Riley, G, Fr., Winthrop
Ashlyn Hampton, F, Fr., Campbell
Kyra Davis, F, Fr., Campbell
Tess Santos, F, Fr., Presbyterian

All-Academic Team
Sarah Smith, F, Sr., Campbell
Anna Webster, G, Soph., Charleston Southern
Carley Plentovich, G, Soph., Gardner-Webb
Lindsey Edwards, G/F, Jr., High Point
Molly Reagan, F/C, Jr., Liberty
Kate Spradlin, G, Soph., Longwood
Janie Miles, G, Sr., Presbyterian
Jen Falconer, G, Jr., Radford
Tiffany Wilson, F, Jr., UNC Asheville
Noell Kellers, G, Jr., Winthrop

Player of the Year
Keyen Green, F, Soph., Liberty

Freshman of the Year
Ashtyn Baker, G, Liberty

Defensive Player of the Year
Jayda Worthy, F, Sr., Radford

Coach of the Year
Mike McGuire, Radford

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Janie Miles, G, Sr., Presbyterian