Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

Host Liberty Seeded No. 1 for Big South WBB Championship

March 3, 2018  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Host Liberty Seeded No. 1 for Big South WBB Championship

Big South Women's Basketball Championship Central

Tournament Bracket

Buy Tournament Tickets

Tournament host and Big South regular-season champion Liberty has earned the No. 1 seed for the 2018 Big South Women's Basketball Championship. The Lady Flames, who are the tournament's top seed for the 16th time in program history, will face either No. 8 seed Charleston Southern or No. 9 seed Longwood in the quarterfinal round, Friday at noon inside the Vines Center.

Liberty will host the entire Big South Women's Basketball Championship for the second consecutive season, with the four-day tournament set to tip off with a pair of first-round games Thursday evening.

If Liberty is victorious on Friday, it would advance to a semifinal contest against either No. 4 seed High Point or No. 5 seed Presbyterian Saturday at 2 p.m. The championship game is set for Sunday at 2 p.m.

The Lady Flames wrapped up the regular season with a 21-9 overall record, a 16-2 mark in Big South Conference play and a 12-0 record at the Vines Center.

Liberty swept the regular-season series from both Charleston Southern and Longwood. The Lady Flames notched a 63-53 home win over CSU on Jan. 6 and posted a 95-57 victory in Charleston last Saturday. Meanwhile, Liberty was victorious by a 63-51 count at Longwood on Jan. 23 and defeated the Lancers, 73-36, at the Vines Center on Tuesday.

If Liberty and Charleston Southern square off on Friday, it would mark the third straight year the two teams have met in the quarterfinal round. The Lady Flames defeated CSU, 68-53, in the 2016 quarterfinals in Asheville, N.C. The Buccaneers then turned the tables with a 52-50 quarterfinal victory over host Liberty a season ago, ending the Lady Flames' streak of 20 straight seasons advancing to the Big South semifinals.

Liberty and Longwood have only faced off in the Big South Championship once previously. The Lady Flames defeated the Lancers, 54-45, in the 2013 title game in Conway, S.C.

Liberty has won 16 of the last 21 titles at the Big South Women's Basketball Championship, cutting down the nets 14 of the previous 15 times it has been seeded No. 1. The Lady Flames' last three Big South titles (2012, 2013 and 2015) have come as the top seed.

Radford finished 15-3 in conference play, closing the regular season with 10 straight wins to claim the No. 2 seed. Two-time defending tournament champion UNC Asheville is seeded No. 3 at 12-6, while High Point's 10-8 conference record garnered the No. 4 seed.

Presbyterian is the No. 5 seed at 9-9, while Campbell and Gardner-Webb posted matching 8-10 conference records. The Camels are seeded No. 6 and the Runnin' Bulldogs No. 7 by virtue of Campbell's regular-season sweep of Gardner-Webb.

Similarly, Charleston Southern and Longwood both ended up at 5-13 in conference play. But CSU won both regular-season meetings to claim the No. 8 seed, relegating the Lancers to No. 9. Winthrop rounds out the field at No. 10 with its 2-16 conference record.

Tickets are on sale in-person at the Liberty Athletics Ticket Office, online at or by phone at 434-582-7328.

Liberty fans will have several ways to keep up with the action if they are unable to make it to the Vines Center. Friday's quarterfinal games, Saturday's semifinals and Sunday's championship game will all be aired live on ESPN3.

Additionally, Jamie Hall will broadcast each of Liberty's games on 90.9 FM "The Light." The radio call will also be streamed on and

The complete 2018 Big South Women's Basketball Championship schedule is as follows:

Thursday, March 8 – First Round (Broadcasted on Big South Network)
Game 1 – No. 8 seed Charleston Southern vs. No. 9 seed Longwood – 6 p.m.
Game 2 – No. 7 seed Gardner-Webb vs. No. 10 seed Winthrop – 8 p.m.

Friday, March 9 – Quarterfinals (Broadcasted on ESPN3)
Game 3 – No. 1 seed Liberty vs. Winner Game 1 – Noon
Game 4 – No. 4 seed High Point vs. No. 5 seed Presbyterian – 2 p.m.
Game 5 – No. 2 seed Radford vs. Winner Game 2 – 6 p.m.
Game 6 – No. 3 seed UNC Asheville vs. No. 6 seed Campbell – 8 p.m.

Saturday, March 10 – Semifinals (Broadcasted on ESPN3)
Game 7 – Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4 – 2 p.m.
Game 8 – Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6 – 4 p.m.

Sunday, March 11 – Final (Broadcasted on ESPN3)
Game 9 – Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 8 – 2 p.m.