Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

Oberlin and Tyson Named First Team All-Big South

November 7, 2007  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Junior defender Brittany Tyson has been named to the 2007 Big South All-Conference first team along with teammate Amy Oberlin

Junior defender Brittany Tyson has been named to the 2007 Big South All-Conference first team along with teammate Amy Oberlin

Liberty Lady Flames women's soccer players Amy Oberlin and Brittany Tyson have been named to the 2007 Big South All-Conference first team, the league announced this evening. The announcement was made at the conference's annual women's soccer awards banquet, held in Charleston, S.C.

In addition to the two Lady Flames on the first team All-Big South squad, Liberty freshman forward Maria Owen was selected to the conference's All-freshman team, while Oberlin was also named to the conference's All-Academic team.

With her selection to the 2007 All-Conference squad, Oberlin (Jr., MF, Ada, Mich.) has now been named to three-straight all-conference teams. Last season, the junior midfielder was selected to her first all-conference first team, after being named to the Big South's All-Conference second team her freshman year. Having played in all 17 Liberty games in 2007, the Lady Flames' leading scorer has recorded a team-high five goals and tallied 10 points. In addition, Oberlin was honored with selection to the 2007 Big South All-Academic team for her efforts in the classroom, as well as on the soccer field.

Tyson (Jr., D, Souderton, Pa.) garners her first selection to the Big South All-Conference first team. This season, the defender has scored a goal and assisted on two others for the Lady Flames. The goal, the first of her career, along with her two assists came in Liberty's 4-1 victory over Radford earlier this season. Moving from left side defender to a center defender this year, the junior has provided steady play for the Lady Flames throughout the 2007 season.

Meanwhile, Owen (Mount Jackson, Va.) was named to the conference's All-Freshman team. The forward has four goals in 12 games in her first season of collegiate soccer.

Coastal Carolina midfielder Ashleigh Gunning and head coach Rohan Naraine were awarded the 2007 Big South Women's Soccer Player of the Year and Coach of the Year awards, respectively.

Charleston Southern forward Michelle Dennis was voted Freshman of the Year, while High Point's Alex Torriero was selected as the 2007 Big South Women's Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The awards banquet served as the kickoff for the 2007 Big South Women's Soccer Championship. The first round begins tomorrow in Charleston, S.C., with four games scheduled throughout the day at Blackbaud Stadium, beginning at 11:30 a.m. The semifinals will be played Friday beginning at 4:30 p.m., with the conference championship match slated for Sunday at 2 p.m.

Liberty, the No. 5 seed, squares off with No. 4 seed Winthrop in the opening contest of the day, tomorrow at 11:30 a.m.

 2007 Big South Conference Women's Soccer Award Winners

First-team All-Conference
Ashleigh Gunning, MF, Coastal Carolina
Emma Mattsson, F, Charleston Southern
Chelsea Terry, D, Coastal Carolina
Jen Evans, F, High Point
Blair Monroe, F, Coastal Carolina
Brittany Bolick, D, Charleston Southern
Alex Torriero, D, High Point
Brianna Kipper, MF, Radford
Amy Oberlin, MF, Liberty
Marky Boyce, MF, Charleston Southern
Brittany Tyson, D, Liberty
Beckie Lesh, MF, High Point
Dimitra Polous, GK, Winthrop

Second-team All-Conference
Chelsea White, F, Winthrop
Michelle Dennis, F, Charleston Southern
Jen Vroman, MF, Charleston Southern
Maegen Hellberg, D, Coastal Carolina
Robyn Busha, F, UNC Asheville
Audrey Falconi, D, VMI
McKenzie Vergara, F, Radford
Courtney Spotts, D, High Point
Emma Humphries, F, Coastal Carolina
Emily McColl, MF, Coastal Carolina
Kate Barrow, D, UNC Asheville
Caitlyn Roan, MF, Radford
Marisa Abbott, GK, High Point

All-Freshman Team
Michelle Dennis, F, Charleston Southern
Latrice Lee, F, Radford
Amy Haggard, GK, Coastal Carolina
Anna Tupy, MF, Coastal Carolina
Sara Rager, F, High Point
Maria Owen, F, Liberty
Marky Boyce, MF, Charleston Southern
Katie Perkinson, D, Winthrop
Angela Redmond, GK, VMI
SharDavia Bell, F/D, Radford
Sara Niles, MF, Coastal Carolina

Academic All-Conference
Brittany Bolick, Jr., Charleston Southern
Ashleigh Gunning, Sr., Coastal Carolina
Alex Torriero, Sr., High Point
Amy Oberlin, Jr., Liberty
Millie Green, Sr., Presbyterian
Corin O'Donnell, Jr., Radford
Veronica Lazar, Soph., UNC Asheville
Audrey Falconi, Soph., VMI
Ashley Hallmon, Sr., Winthrop

Player of the Year
Ashleigh Gunning, MF, Coastal Carolina

Freshman of the Year
Michelle Dennis, F, Charleston Southern

Coach of the Year
Rohan Naraine, Coastal Carolina

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Alex Torriero, High Point