Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

Flames No. 2 Seed for the 2017 Big South Baseball Championship

May 20, 2017  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Flames No.  2 Seed for the 2017 Big South Baseball Championship

The Liberty Flames will be the No. 2 seed for the next week's Big South Baseball Championship. The seedings and pairings were announced, following the close of the 2017 regular season, this afternoon. The tournament will be contested, May 23-27 at the Lexington County Baseball Stadium in Lexington, S.C.

After taking two of its three games this weekend from Presbyterian, Liberty, 32-21 overall, finishes second in the Big South standings with a 16-8 conference mark and garners the No. 2 seed. The Flames will play in Bracket 1 during the conference championship and will face the No. 7 seed Gardner-Webb Bulldogs in the first game of the day at 9:30 a.m., Tuesday.

Gardner-Webb finished in a three-way tie for fifth in the conference standings with Radford and UNC Asheville with identical 11-13 conference records. However, Radford and UNC Asheville claimed tiebreakers over the Runnin' Bulldogs, 24-28 overall.

Liberty won two out of three of its regular season contests with Gardner-Webb, April 21-22 at John H. Moss Stadium in Boiling Springs, N.C.

The Flames will be looking to return to the conference's championship game for second straight season, after falling to Big South Champion and eventual NCAA Champion Coastal Carolina in last season's title game, 1-0.

The winner of the Liberty-Gardner-Webb matchup will face the winner of Game 2, which features No. 3 seed Presbyterian vs. No. 6 seed UNC Asheville. The two winning teams will face each other on Wednesday.

Winthrop, which finished the Big South season in first-place with a 17-7 conference record and claims the No. 1 seed. The Eagles' regular season title is its first since 2003.

After Liberty and Presbyterian, High Point finished the regular season with a 13-11 league mark to claim the No. 4 seed.  Radford, UNC Asheville and Gardner-Webb finished tied for fifth-place at 11-13.  Campbell rounds out the tournament field at the No. 8 seed, as the Fighting Camels closed the regular season with a 10-14 league mark. 

The first three days of games of the 2017 Big South Baseball Championship will air on the Big South Network, while the semifinals and winner-take-all championship game will air exclusively on ESPN3. The title game will be televised on ESPNU. The winner of the championship game receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Baseball Tournament.

In addition, each Liberty contest during the tournament will be broadcast on the radio by the Liberty Flames Sports Network. 

The conference championship schedule is as follows:

Tuesday, May 23 (Big South Network)
Game 1: No. 2 Liberty vs. No. 7 Gardner-Webb, 9:30 a.m.
Game 2: No. 3 Presbyterian vs. No. 6 UNC Asheville, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 1 
Game 3: No. 1 Winthrop vs. No. 8 Campbell, 4:30 p.m.
Game 4: No. 4 High Point vs. No. 5 Radford, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 3

Wednesday, May 24 (Big South Network)
Game 5: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 9:30 a.m.
Game 6: Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 5
Game 7: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 4:30 p.m.
Game 8: Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 7

Thursday, May 25 (Big South Network)
Game 9: Winner Game 5 vs. Loser Game 7, 3 p.m. 
Game 10: Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 8, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 9

Friday, May 26 (ESPN3)
Game 11: Winner Game 8 vs. Winner Game 9, 10 a.m.
Game 12: Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 10, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 11
Game 13: if necessary, 5 p.m., 7 innings
Game 14: if necessary, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 13, 7 innings

Saturday, May 27 - Championship Game (ESPNU)
Winner Game 11 or 13 vs. Winner Game 12 or 14, 4 p.m.