Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down
Full Athletic Schedule keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_right

Team News

Liberty Men's Soccer Selected to Finish Fifth in 2016 Preseason Poll

August 9, 2016  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Seniors Jeremy Lee and Kyle Carr

Seniors Jeremy Lee and Kyle Carr

The Liberty Flames men's soccer team has been picked to finish fifth in the Big South Conference's annual preseason poll, as voted on by the league's head men's soccer coaches.

Head Coach Jeff Alder's team received 43 points in being predicted by the panel to end the upcoming soccer season in fifth place in the conference standings.

The 2016 Flames will have a mix of 13 returnees and 13 newcomers. Heading the returnees are senior goalkeeper Jeremy Lee and senior midfielder Kyle Carr.

Liberty, in its 16th season under alumnus Alder, will begin practice for the upcoming 2016 campaign tomorrow. The Flames open their season on August 26 at Osborne Stadium, by hosting the Howard Bison at 7 p.m. Liberty will begin Big South play on Sept. 24 at the Winthrop Eagles.

The league's coaches selected the 2015 NCAA Tournament Participant Radford Highlanders to win the conference title in 2016. The Highlanders collected seven first place votes and 72 points in being tabbed the preseason favorite. High Point was picked to finish second with 64 votes, followed by Winthrop, which garnered one first place vote and 56 points, in third, and Campbell in fourth with 55 points.

Liberty was followed by Longwood (one first place vote, 42 points), UNC Asheville (34 points), Gardner-Webb (28 points) and Presbyterian (11 points).

Radford sophomore forward Sivert Daehlie was named Preseason Attacking Player of the Year, while teammate Jo Vetle Rimstad, a senioir defender, was selected the Preseason Defensive Player of the Year.

The Big South Men's Soccer Championship is scheduled for Tuesday-Sunday, Nov. 6, 9 and 13 at the site of the higher seeded team.

2016 Big South Men's Soccer Preseason Poll

1. Radford (7) – 72

2. High Point – 64

3. Winthrop (1) – 56

4. Campbell – 55

5. Liberty – 43

6. Longwood (1) – 42

7. UNC Asheville – 34

8. Gardner-Webb - 28

10. Presbyterian - 11