Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

No. 11 Seed Liberty Headed to Albuquerque Regional

May 5, 2016  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
No. 11 Seed Liberty Headed to Albuquerque Regional

Big South Conference champion Liberty learned on Thursday it will be headed to the Albuquerque Regional as the No. 11 seed for the 2016 NCAA Men's Golf Regionals.

Regional play for the Flames will be held on May 16-18 at the Championship Golf at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, N.M. (par 72, 7,562 yards).

The top five teams in the 14-team Albuquerque Regional will advance to the 2016 NCAA Men's Golf Championship in Eugene, Ore., May 27 – June 1.

The Albuquerque Regional field includes five conference champions who were automatic qualifiers into this field: No. 3 seed South Florida (American Athletic Conference), No. 11 seed Liberty (Big South Conference), No. 12 seed Army (Patriot League), No. 13 seed Cleveland State (Horizon League) and No. 14 seed Wagner (Northeast Conference).

No. 1 seed USC leads the field at the Albuquerque Regional, as the Trojans are currently ranked No. 3 in the latest Golfstat national rankings.

USC is followed by No. 2 seed Arizona State (No. 11 nationally), No. 3 seed South Florida (No. 15 nationally), No. 4 seed San Diego State (No. 22 nationally) and No. 5 seed Texas A&M (No. 27 nationally).

The Championship Golf at the University of New Mexico has served as the host the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships in 1950, 1976 and 1992.

Liberty was one of three Big South teams to advance to NCAA Regional play this season. Joining the Flames were Charleston Southern as the No. 10 seed at the Tuscaloosa Regional and No. 11 seed Campbell at the Wisconsin Regional.

With three teams in regional play, the Big South Conference has set a new league standard for men's golf and ties the conference's overall record for team's advancing to postseason play (men's soccer placed three teams in the NCAA Men's Soccer Championship in 2015).

Liberty, winners of the Big South title four out of the last six years, will be making its seventh NCAA Regional appearance in program history.

As Big South Conference champions, the Flames received automatic bids to the NCAA Regionals in 2011, 2012, 2014 and 2016. Liberty also received at-large bids to the NCAA Regionals in 2003, 2006 and 2013.

2016 NCAA Albuquerque Regional Field
Championship Golf at the University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, N.M. (Hosted by New Mexico)
NCAA Regional Teams [Conference Automatic Qualifiers]:  

1. USC
2. Arizona State
3. South Florida (AQ)
4. San Diego State
5. Texas A&M
6. N.C. State
7. New Mexico
8. Texas Tech
9. TCU
10. Iowa
11. Liberty (AQ)
12. Army (AQ)
13. Cleveland State (AQ)
14. Wagner (AQ)

NCAA Regional Individuals:
1. Hayden Shieh, Santa Clara
2. Patrick Fishburn, BYU
3. Frederik Dreier, University of Texas at El Paso
4. Trevor Clayton, California State, Fresno
5. Nicholas Dilio, Saint Peter's